Photogtaphy Forums

Photography Forums > Photography Newsgroups > Photography Archive > Digital SLR > Aperature Priority

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

Aperature Priority

 
 
Molson via PhotoKB.com
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      09-18-2005, 04:44 PM
I'm a bit frustrated with My Nikon D70 in aperature priority. I've been
setting the aperature to a resonable setting for the shot and letting the
camera choose the shutter speed. They usually come out dark. I've tried a
number of things to try to lighten up the shot, but nothing worked. So, I
took the same shot in automatic mode. Great shot...
Then I noted the Aperature and Shutter Speed for that Auto shot and changed
to Aperature Priority, went with the same Aperature as in auto, and expected
the camera to choose the same Shutter speed as in auto...but it didn't.
Here's an example. Auto: Aperature F5, SS 1/100. Same shot in aperature
priority: Aperature F5, SS 1/500!
It came out dark. (Also, I have the flash turned out on both shots.)
Anybody know what's going on here?
Thanks, Molson


--
Message posted via http://www.photokb.com
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
dylan
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      09-18-2005, 04:57 PM

"Molson via PhotoKB.com" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed)...
> I'm a bit frustrated with My Nikon D70 in aperature priority. I've been
> setting the aperature to a resonable setting for the shot and letting the
> camera choose the shutter speed. They usually come out dark. I've tried
> a
> number of things to try to lighten up the shot, but nothing worked. So, I
> took the same shot in automatic mode. Great shot...
> Then I noted the Aperature and Shutter Speed for that Auto shot and
> changed
> to Aperature Priority, went with the same Aperature as in auto, and
> expected
> the camera to choose the same Shutter speed as in auto...but it didn't.
> Here's an example. Auto: Aperature F5, SS 1/100. Same shot in aperature
> priority: Aperature F5, SS 1/500!
> It came out dark. (Also, I have the flash turned out on both shots.)
> Anybody know what's going on here?
> Thanks, Molson


Could you havea different ISO set between Auto and Aperture priority ?


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Molson via PhotoKB.com
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      09-18-2005, 05:18 PM
dylan wrote:
>> I'm a bit frustrated with My Nikon D70 in aperature priority. I've been
>> setting the aperature to a resonable setting for the shot and letting the

>[quoted text clipped - 12 lines]
>> Anybody know what's going on here?
>> Thanks, Molson

>
>Could you havea different ISO set between Auto and Aperture priority ?

Nope same ISO, in this case it was set at 500 (cloudy day) for both Auto and
AP.


--
Message posted via http://www.photokb.com
 
Reply With Quote
 
dylan
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      09-18-2005, 05:40 PM

"Molson via PhotoKB.com" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed)...
> dylan wrote:
>>> I'm a bit frustrated with My Nikon D70 in aperature priority. I've been
>>> setting the aperature to a resonable setting for the shot and letting
>>> the

>>[quoted text clipped - 12 lines]
>>> Anybody know what's going on here?
>>> Thanks, Molson

>>
>>Could you havea different ISO set between Auto and Aperture priority ?

> Nope same ISO, in this case it was set at 500 (cloudy day) for both Auto
> and
> AP.


I'd say it's faulty in AP mode then.


 
Reply With Quote
 
Don F
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      09-18-2005, 06:40 PM
"Molson via PhotoKB.com" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed)...
> I'm a bit frustrated with My Nikon D70 in aperature priority. I've been
> setting the aperature to a resonable setting for the shot and letting the
> camera choose the shutter speed. They usually come out dark. I've tried
> a
> number of things to try to lighten up the shot, but nothing worked. So, I
> took the same shot in automatic mode. Great shot...
> Then I noted the Aperature and Shutter Speed for that Auto shot and
> changed
> to Aperature Priority, went with the same Aperature as in auto, and
> expected
> the camera to choose the same Shutter speed as in auto...but it didn't.
> Here's an example. Auto: Aperature F5, SS 1/100. Same shot in aperature
> priority: Aperature F5, SS 1/500!
> It came out dark. (Also, I have the flash turned out on both shots.)
> Anybody know what's going on here?
> Thanks, Molson
>
>
> --
> Message posted via http://www.photokb.com

-------------
Are you saying that the camera chose the same aperture in AUTO mode as
*you* chose in APERTURE PRIORITY mode? .... or are you calculating an
equivalent exposure from the AUTO mode result?
Also, what metering mode do you use, matrix, center weighted. or spot?
Don F


 
Reply With Quote
 
Robert Brace
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      09-18-2005, 07:08 PM

"Molson via PhotoKB.com" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed)...
> I'm a bit frustrated with My Nikon D70 in aperature priority. I've been
> setting the aperature to a resonable setting for the shot and letting the
> camera choose the shutter speed. They usually come out dark. I've tried
> a
> number of things to try to lighten up the shot, but nothing worked. So, I
> took the same shot in automatic mode. Great shot...
> Then I noted the Aperature and Shutter Speed for that Auto shot and
> changed
> to Aperature Priority, went with the same Aperature as in auto, and
> expected
> the camera to choose the same Shutter speed as in auto...but it didn't.
> Here's an example. Auto: Aperature F5, SS 1/100. Same shot in aperature
> priority: Aperature F5, SS 1/500!
> It came out dark. (Also, I have the flash turned out on both shots.)
> Anybody know what's going on here?
> Thanks, Molson
>
>
> --
> Message posted via http://www.photokb.com


Is this a recent thing? How did the camera operate when new?
Have you altered any of the custom settings, even those which, on the
surface, don't seem to have any influence, can influence exposure in the
long run.
It almost sounds as if you are getting a meter pattern change when changing
modes.
Bob



 
Reply With Quote
 
Pete D
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      09-18-2005, 07:58 PM

"dylan" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:dgk6ag$muo$(E-Mail Removed)...
>
> "Molson via PhotoKB.com" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
> news:(E-Mail Removed)...
>> I'm a bit frustrated with My Nikon D70 in aperature priority. I've been
>> setting the aperature to a resonable setting for the shot and letting the
>> camera choose the shutter speed. They usually come out dark. I've tried
>> a
>> number of things to try to lighten up the shot, but nothing worked. So,
>> I
>> took the same shot in automatic mode. Great shot...
>> Then I noted the Aperature and Shutter Speed for that Auto shot and
>> changed
>> to Aperature Priority, went with the same Aperature as in auto, and
>> expected
>> the camera to choose the same Shutter speed as in auto...but it didn't.
>> Here's an example. Auto: Aperature F5, SS 1/100. Same shot in aperature
>> priority: Aperature F5, SS 1/500!
>> It came out dark. (Also, I have the flash turned out on both shots.)
>> Anybody know what's going on here?
>> Thanks, Molson

>
> Could you havea different ISO set between Auto and Aperture priority ?


Also do you have an exposure compensation setting?


 
Reply With Quote
 
Molson via PhotoKB.com
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      09-18-2005, 08:01 PM
Robert Brace wrote:
>> I'm a bit frustrated with My Nikon D70 in aperature priority. I've been
>> setting the aperature to a resonable setting for the shot and letting the

>[quoted text clipped - 12 lines]
>> Anybody know what's going on here?
>> Thanks, Molson

>
>Is this a recent thing? How did the camera operate when new?
>Have you altered any of the custom settings, even those which, on the
>surface, don't seem to have any influence, can influence exposure in the
>long run.
>It almost sounds as if you are getting a meter pattern change when changing
>modes.
>Bob>


Thanks comments.
I did start looking into all of the settings and realized that the Exposure
mode was different on my Aperture Prioriry shot. Thanks for getting me on
the right track. I must have changed that a while ago and forgot. I
actually put everything back to factory settings. Now the shots I take in
Aperture Priority look great and if I choose the same Fstop (when I'm in AP)
as Auto mode did... the camera is actually choosing the same shutter speeds
in both situations (AP and Auto) Thank you! Molson


--
Message posted via http://www.photokb.com
 
Reply With Quote
 
Robert Brace
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      09-18-2005, 08:28 PM

"Molson via PhotoKB.com" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed)...
> Robert Brace wrote:
>>> I'm a bit frustrated with My Nikon D70 in aperature priority. I've been
>>> setting the aperature to a resonable setting for the shot and letting
>>> the

>>[quoted text clipped - 12 lines]
>>> Anybody know what's going on here?
>>> Thanks, Molson

>>
>>Is this a recent thing? How did the camera operate when new?
>>Have you altered any of the custom settings, even those which, on the
>>surface, don't seem to have any influence, can influence exposure in the
>>long run.
>>It almost sounds as if you are getting a meter pattern change when
>>changing
>>modes.
>>Bob>

>
> Thanks comments.
> I did start looking into all of the settings and realized that the
> Exposure
> mode was different on my Aperture Prioriry shot. Thanks for getting me on
> the right track. I must have changed that a while ago and forgot. I
> actually put everything back to factory settings. Now the shots I take
> in
> Aperture Priority look great and if I choose the same Fstop (when I'm in
> AP)
> as Auto mode did... the camera is actually choosing the same shutter
> speeds
> in both situations (AP and Auto) Thank you! Molson
>
>
> --
> Message posted via http://www.photokb.com


Glad to help!
Especially glad it worked out for you.
Bob


 
Reply With Quote
 
Blair
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      09-19-2005, 05:42 AM

>
> Thanks comments.
> I did start looking into all of the settings and realized that the

Exposure
> mode was different on my Aperture Prioriry shot. Thanks for getting me on
> the right track. I must have changed that a while ago and forgot. I
> actually put everything back to factory settings. Now the shots I take

in
> Aperture Priority look great and if I choose the same Fstop (when I'm in

AP)
> as Auto mode did... the camera is actually choosing the same shutter

speeds
> in both situations (AP and Auto) Thank you! Molson
>
>

I am about to start using the priority settings in my Fuji 4900Z camera,
having only used auto to dateand want to learn. My question is ; If the
settings are the same what is the advantage in choosing Aperature priority
over auto?
Blair


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D300 BUG in Aperture Priority & Shutter Priority Mode Chico Digital SLR 19 01-15-2008 11:54 PM
Apple's Aperature announcement G.T. Digital SLR 111 10-29-2005 03:10 PM
Having trouble setting aperature on Nikon N65 Liz Hamilton via PhotoKB.com Nikon 10 04-07-2005 11:11 PM
Vivitar Series 1 lenses and one with sticky aperature braxus 35mm Cameras 7 06-25-2004 11:49 PM
Aperature - how does it work? Ed E. 35mm Cameras 27 10-17-2003 09:32 PM