Photogtaphy Forums

Photography Forums > Photography Newsgroups > Software Archive > Photoshop > Best way to set up my scratch disks?

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

Best way to set up my scratch disks?

 
 
Mark
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      01-09-2004, 10:44 AM


Hey there,

My HD is partitioned

C: 5gig (1.8 free)

D: 25gig(15 free)



How should I set it up in PSCS for best performance?


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Tin Ear
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      01-09-2004, 12:37 PM

"Mark" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:btlm4k$8kabe$(E-Mail Removed)-berlin.de...
>
>
> Hey there,
>
> My HD is partitioned
>
> C: 5gig (1.8 free)
>
> D: 25gig(15 free)
>
>
>
> How should I set it up in PSCS for best performance?
>

Are these two physical disks or are they partitions on the same physical
drive?

If it is on the same physical drive, I'd opt for the larger free space. If
it is a separate physical drive, I'd opt for the one without the operating
system.

If you only have one physical drive, have you considered adding a second
drive to your system? Moving your data to a separate physical drive and
setting up a swap area there makes a big difference in performance. Big
drives are relatively inexpensive: I've seen a 120 Gb with a highspeed
controller for around US$130 at a local member warehouse. Comparable pricing
on 'net too. You can also shop garage sales, etc and pick up a spare 20 - 30
Gig and use it just for swap space. If you do this with Microsoft operating
systems, you'll get a big performance boost. I don't know enough about Mac
to know if this works for tem as well.


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Mark
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      01-09-2004, 06:38 PM

"Tin Ear" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:VfxLb.9817$(E-Mail Removed) t...
>
> "Mark" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
> news:btlm4k$8kabe$(E-Mail Removed)-berlin.de...
> >
> >
> > Hey there,
> >
> > My HD is partitioned
> >
> > C: 5gig (1.8 free)
> >
> > D: 25gig(15 free)
> >
> >
> >
> > How should I set it up in PSCS for best performance?
> >

> Are these two physical disks or are they partitions on the same physical
> drive?
>
> If it is on the same physical drive, I'd opt for the larger free space. If
> it is a separate physical drive, I'd opt for the one without the operating
> system.
>
> If you only have one physical drive, have you considered adding a second
> drive to your system? Moving your data to a separate physical drive and
> setting up a swap area there makes a big difference in performance. Big
> drives are relatively inexpensive: I've seen a 120 Gb with a highspeed
> controller for around US$130 at a local member warehouse. Comparable

pricing
> on 'net too. You can also shop garage sales, etc and pick up a spare 20 -

30
> Gig and use it just for swap space. If you do this with Microsoft

operating
> systems, you'll get a big performance boost. I don't know enough about Mac
> to know if this works for tem as well.


hey thanks for that,

Im on a laptop with one drive partitioned.
>
>



 
Reply With Quote
 
Alvie
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      01-09-2004, 06:53 PM
RTFM perhaps?
IDE hard drives have uniqueness in their need to do one operation at a time.
Beter to have 2 different drives, not different partitions.
RTFM
ABC

"Mark" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:btlm4k$8kabe$(E-Mail Removed)-berlin.de...
>
>
> Hey there,
>
> My HD is partitioned
>
> C: 5gig (1.8 free)
>
> D: 25gig(15 free)
>
>
>
> How should I set it up in PSCS for best performance?
>
>



 
Reply With Quote
 
Brian K
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      01-09-2004, 07:01 PM
D: first, C: second.


"Mark" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:btlm4k$8kabe$(E-Mail Removed)-berlin.de...
>
>
> Hey there,
>
> My HD is partitioned
>
> C: 5gig (1.8 free)
>
> D: 25gig(15 free)
>
>
>
> How should I set it up in PSCS for best performance?
>
>



 
Reply With Quote
 
Donald Link
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      01-10-2004, 06:55 AM
Start out with a bigger hard drive. You have such a puny drive for today's
standard and you can pickup up 80 gig for the price of a movie and popcorn
if you look for sales. Even less if you ask around since a lot of people
have 40 and 80 drives laying in drawers. I have 2 a Maxtor and a Western
Digital almost new since upgrading to a 200 gig and a 250 gig since I do a
lot of video editing.



"Mark" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:btlm4k$8kabe$(E-Mail Removed)-berlin.de...
>
>
> Hey there,
>
> My HD is partitioned
>
> C: 5gig (1.8 free)
>
> D: 25gig(15 free)
>
>
>
> How should I set it up in PSCS for best performance?
>
>



 
Reply With Quote
 
Mark
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      01-10-2004, 07:18 AM
thanks Brian.

"Brian K" <iibntgyea4_ (E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:1UCLb.3124$(E-Mail Removed)...
> D: first, C: second.
>
>
> "Mark" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
> news:btlm4k$8kabe$(E-Mail Removed)-berlin.de...
> >
> >
> > Hey there,
> >
> > My HD is partitioned
> >
> > C: 5gig (1.8 free)
> >
> > D: 25gig(15 free)
> >
> >
> >
> > How should I set it up in PSCS for best performance?
> >
> >

>
>



 
Reply With Quote
 
Tin Ear
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      01-10-2004, 06:01 PM

"Mark" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:btmhue$8su5m$(E-Mail Removed)-berlin.de...
>
> "Tin Ear" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
> news:VfxLb.9817$(E-Mail Removed) t...
> >
> > "Mark" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
> > news:btlm4k$8kabe$(E-Mail Removed)-berlin.de...
> > >
> > >
> > > Hey there,
> > >
> > > My HD is partitioned
> > >
> > > C: 5gig (1.8 free)
> > >
> > > D: 25gig(15 free)
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > > How should I set it up in PSCS for best performance?
> > >

> > Are these two physical disks or are they partitions on the same physical
> > drive?
> >
> > If it is on the same physical drive, I'd opt for the larger free space.

If
> > it is a separate physical drive, I'd opt for the one without the

operating
> > system.
> >
> > If you only have one physical drive, have you considered adding a second
> > drive to your system? Moving your data to a separate physical drive and
> > setting up a swap area there makes a big difference in performance. Big
> > drives are relatively inexpensive: I've seen a 120 Gb with a highspeed
> > controller for around US$130 at a local member warehouse. Comparable

> pricing
> > on 'net too. You can also shop garage sales, etc and pick up a spare

20 -
> 30
> > Gig and use it just for swap space. If you do this with Microsoft

> operating
> > systems, you'll get a big performance boost. I don't know enough about

Mac
> > to know if this works for tem as well.

>
> hey thanks for that,
>
> Im on a laptop with one drive partitioned.
> >
> >

You could add a second physical drive by buying an external USB or FireWire
connect drive. When installed, you OS sees these as a local drive, not a
removable drive. As with any peripheral, you get what you pay for in terms
of storage and reliability. Mileage varies a lot on this, so I'll stay away
from suggesting a brand. Pick your price point and see how much you can get
for your money.


 
Reply With Quote
 
Bobs
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      01-10-2004, 06:01 PM
On Fri, 9 Jan 2004 02:44:09 -0800, "Mark" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

>
>
>Hey there,
>
>My HD is partitioned
>
>C: 5gig (1.8 free)
>
>D: 25gig(15 free)
>
>
>
>How should I set it up in PSCS for best performance?
>

There's little point in putting scratch areas on a partition of the
same drive Photoshop is on, since it just means that the HD head is
going to be fetching from one place and writing data to another
location on the same drive, taking considerable time in the process.
The correct solution is to define the scratch area on another,
preferably defragmented drive. Ideally, a dedicated drive for this
purpose will allow simple housecleaning.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Bobs
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      01-10-2004, 06:03 PM
On Fri, 9 Jan 2004 10:38:51 -0800, "Mark" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

>
>Im on a laptop with one drive partitioned.
>>
>>

On a laptop, you can add an external USB2 or SCSI drive--I've got 3
hanging on my laptop.

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the best way to set up pre-production? mguerra3@gmail.com Amateur Video Production 8 11-21-2006 11:40 PM
350xt LCD scratch protection? Slack Digital SLR 7 03-21-2005 10:08 PM
Way to set default new image size cc Photoshop 3 06-25-2004 09:28 PM