Photogtaphy Forums

Photography Forums > Camera Manufacturers > Canon > Canon EOS Digital Rebel suddenly all black!?

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

Canon EOS Digital Rebel suddenly all black!?

 
 
Tim Smith
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-21-2008, 07:18 PM

Howdy. I'm not a camera guy (a digital point and shoot is about my
normal limit of semi-competence, so a digital SLR holds many mysteries
for me), but am trying to make simple use of a Canon EOS Digital Rebel,
model DS6041, for a project. We need to take some time-lapse photos,
and are using this camera, hooked up to AC power, and a computer running
Canon's Remote Capture software. I put the camera in full manual mode,
turned off the autofocus switch on the lens, and manually focused it,
and set the aperture and exposure with the Remote Capture software, and
took pictures with that until I found an aperture and exposure that were
good. I then ran a test over a weekend, one frame every 3 minutes.

The test ran fine.

We then set it to one frame every 2 minutes, set to do enough frames to
cover a week, started it on a Monday, and checked it throughout the
week. It ran like a champ. Over the weekend, however, something went
wrong. All the images started coming out solid black. Somewhere over
the weekend, Remote Capture crashed. I don't know if these two events
are related.

Anyway, the camera now only seems to shoot black images. If I power it
down, disconnect it from the computer, power it up, and take a shot
manually, it is black. The preview LCD comes on, showing the black
image, for the 4 seconds or so that it normally shows a preview, and the
image gets written to the CF card (since I'm not hooked to the
computer). I can go into the "review images on the card" mode and see
my black images there.

Basically, everything seems normal. Except the images are now coming
out black. There's no error messages.

I did the "reset all camera settings" command to make sure that someone
hadn't fiddled with the camera and put it in a weird mode. Still all
black. Doesn't matter if it is in manual mode, or one of the automatic
modes, or if it is using flash or not. All black.

The building air conditioning is off on the weekend, but we had a record
cold weekend. 30 degrees F colder than the previous weekend (the one
when I ran the successful test). So, I don't think there is much chance
that the camera overheated and damaged itself.

Anyone have any ideas as to what might be wrong here?

--
--Tim Smith
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
RichA
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-21-2008, 07:35 PM
On Apr 21, 3:18 pm, Tim Smith <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
> Howdy. I'm not a camera guy (a digital point and shoot is about my
> normal limit of semi-competence, so a digital SLR holds many mysteries
> for me), but am trying to make simple use of a Canon EOS Digital Rebel,
> model DS6041, for a project. We need to take some time-lapse photos,
> and are using this camera, hooked up to AC power, and a computer running
> Canon's Remote Capture software. I put the camera in full manual mode,
> turned off the autofocus switch on the lens, and manually focused it,
> and set the aperture and exposure with the Remote Capture software, and
> took pictures with that until I found an aperture and exposure that were
> good. I then ran a test over a weekend, one frame every 3 minutes.
>
> The test ran fine.
>
> We then set it to one frame every 2 minutes, set to do enough frames to
> cover a week, started it on a Monday, and checked it throughout the
> week. It ran like a champ. Over the weekend, however, something went
> wrong. All the images started coming out solid black. Somewhere over
> the weekend, Remote Capture crashed. I don't know if these two events
> are related.
>
> Anyway, the camera now only seems to shoot black images. If I power it
> down, disconnect it from the computer, power it up, and take a shot
> manually, it is black. The preview LCD comes on, showing the black
> image, for the 4 seconds or so that it normally shows a preview, and the
> image gets written to the CF card (since I'm not hooked to the
> computer). I can go into the "review images on the card" mode and see
> my black images there.
>
> Basically, everything seems normal. Except the images are now coming
> out black. There's no error messages.
>
> I did the "reset all camera settings" command to make sure that someone
> hadn't fiddled with the camera and put it in a weird mode. Still all
> black. Doesn't matter if it is in manual mode, or one of the automatic
> modes, or if it is using flash or not. All black.


Sounds like the shutter failed. Not unusual with that brand. Also,
for something unatended like this, I'd make sure the whole thing was
connected to a UPS of some kind.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Robert Coe
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-21-2008, 09:07 PM
On Mon, 21 Apr 2008 12:35:45 -0700 (PDT), RichA <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
: On Apr 21, 3:18 pm, Tim Smith <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
: > Howdy. I'm not a camera guy (a digital point and shoot is about my
: > normal limit of semi-competence, so a digital SLR holds many mysteries
: > for me), but am trying to make simple use of a Canon EOS Digital Rebel,
: > model DS6041, for a project. We need to take some time-lapse photos,
: > and are using this camera, hooked up to AC power, and a computer running
: > Canon's Remote Capture software. I put the camera in full manual mode,
: > turned off the autofocus switch on the lens, and manually focused it,
: > and set the aperture and exposure with the Remote Capture software, and
: > took pictures with that until I found an aperture and exposure that were
: > good. I then ran a test over a weekend, one frame every 3 minutes.
: >
: > The test ran fine.
: >
: > We then set it to one frame every 2 minutes, set to do enough frames to
: > cover a week, started it on a Monday, and checked it throughout the
: > week. It ran like a champ. Over the weekend, however, something went
: > wrong. All the images started coming out solid black. Somewhere over
: > the weekend, Remote Capture crashed. I don't know if these two events
: > are related.
: >
: > Anyway, the camera now only seems to shoot black images. If I power it
: > down, disconnect it from the computer, power it up, and take a shot
: > manually, it is black. The preview LCD comes on, showing the black
: > image, for the 4 seconds or so that it normally shows a preview, and the
: > image gets written to the CF card (since I'm not hooked to the
: > computer). I can go into the "review images on the card" mode and see
: > my black images there.
: >
: > Basically, everything seems normal. Except the images are now coming
: > out black. There's no error messages.
: >
: > I did the "reset all camera settings" command to make sure that someone
: > hadn't fiddled with the camera and put it in a weird mode. Still all
: > black. Doesn't matter if it is in manual mode, or one of the automatic
: > modes, or if it is using flash or not. All black.
:
: Sounds like the shutter failed. Not unusual with that brand. Also,
: for something unatended like this, I'd make sure the whole thing was
: connected to a UPS of some kind.

Another possibility is that the mirror is stuck down. You should be able to
test for that by setting a slow shutter speed and watching to see if the
viewfinder goes dark when you fire the shutter.

Bob
 
Reply With Quote
 
Robert Coe
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-21-2008, 09:11 PM
On Mon, 21 Apr 2008 12:35:45 -0700 (PDT), RichA <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
: On Apr 21, 3:18 pm, Tim Smith <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
: > Howdy. I'm not a camera guy (a digital point and shoot is about my
: > normal limit of semi-competence, so a digital SLR holds many mysteries
: > for me), but am trying to make simple use of a Canon EOS Digital Rebel,
: > model DS6041, for a project. We need to take some time-lapse photos,
: > and are using this camera, hooked up to AC power, and a computer running
: > Canon's Remote Capture software. I put the camera in full manual mode,
: > turned off the autofocus switch on the lens, and manually focused it,
: > and set the aperture and exposure with the Remote Capture software, and
: > took pictures with that until I found an aperture and exposure that were
: > good. I then ran a test over a weekend, one frame every 3 minutes.
: >
: > The test ran fine.
: >
: > We then set it to one frame every 2 minutes, set to do enough frames to
: > cover a week, started it on a Monday, and checked it throughout the
: > week. It ran like a champ. Over the weekend, however, something went
: > wrong. All the images started coming out solid black. Somewhere over
: > the weekend, Remote Capture crashed. I don't know if these two events
: > are related.
: >
: > Anyway, the camera now only seems to shoot black images. If I power it
: > down, disconnect it from the computer, power it up, and take a shot
: > manually, it is black. The preview LCD comes on, showing the black
: > image, for the 4 seconds or so that it normally shows a preview, and the
: > image gets written to the CF card (since I'm not hooked to the
: > computer). I can go into the "review images on the card" mode and see
: > my black images there.
: >
: > Basically, everything seems normal. Except the images are now coming
: > out black. There's no error messages.
: >
: > I did the "reset all camera settings" command to make sure that someone
: > hadn't fiddled with the camera and put it in a weird mode. Still all
: > black. Doesn't matter if it is in manual mode, or one of the automatic
: > modes, or if it is using flash or not. All black.
:
: Sounds like the shutter failed. Not unusual with that brand. Also,
: for something unatended like this, I'd make sure the whole thing was
: connected to a UPS of some kind.

BTW, ignore the "Not unusual with that brand," which is absurd. Rich is a
ritual Canon basher, and his editorial pronouncements on such matters aren't
worth a crap.

Bob
 
Reply With Quote
 
Chris Savage
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-21-2008, 09:19 PM
On 2008-04-21, Tim Smith <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>
> Howdy. I'm not a camera guy (a digital point and shoot is about my
> Canon's Remote Capture software. I put the camera in full manual mode,
> turned off the autofocus switch on the lens, and manually focused it,
> and set the aperture and exposure with the Remote Capture software, and
> took pictures with that until I found an aperture and exposure that were
> good.

[...]
> Anyway, the camera now only seems to shoot black images. If I power it
> down, disconnect it from the computer, power it up, and take a shot
> manually, it is black.

[...]
> I did the "reset all camera settings" command to make sure that someone
> hadn't fiddled with the camera and put it in a weird mode. Still all
> black. Doesn't matter if it is in manual mode, or one of the automatic
> modes, or if it is using flash or not. All black.


That doesn't sound good. The auto modes should be fairly fool-proof.
Sounds like a hardware failure ... especially given that a Rebel/300D is
going to be several years old and...

>
> The building air conditioning is off on the weekend, but we had a record
> cold weekend. 30 degrees F colder than the previous weekend (the one
> when I ran the successful test). So, I don't think there is much chance
> that the camera overheated and damaged itself.


.... cold is just as harmful as heat.

>
> Anyone have any ideas as to what might be wrong here?


It's dead, Tim.

--
Chris Savage Kiss me. Or would you rather live in a
Gateshead, UK land where the soap won't lather?
- Billy Bragg
 
Reply With Quote
 
Doug Jewell
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-21-2008, 09:26 PM
Tim Smith wrote:
> Howdy. I'm not a camera guy (a digital point and shoot is about my
> normal limit of semi-competence, so a digital SLR holds many mysteries
> for me), but am trying to make simple use of a Canon EOS Digital Rebel,
> model DS6041, for a project. We need to take some time-lapse photos,
> and are using this camera, hooked up to AC power, and a computer running
> Canon's Remote Capture software. I put the camera in full manual mode,
> turned off the autofocus switch on the lens, and manually focused it,
> and set the aperture and exposure with the Remote Capture software, and
> took pictures with that until I found an aperture and exposure that were
> good. I then ran a test over a weekend, one frame every 3 minutes.
>
> The test ran fine.
>
> We then set it to one frame every 2 minutes, set to do enough frames to
> cover a week, started it on a Monday, and checked it throughout the
> week. It ran like a champ. Over the weekend, however, something went
> wrong. All the images started coming out solid black. Somewhere over
> the weekend, Remote Capture crashed. I don't know if these two events
> are related.
>
> Anyway, the camera now only seems to shoot black images. If I power it
> down, disconnect it from the computer, power it up, and take a shot
> manually, it is black. The preview LCD comes on, showing the black
> image, for the 4 seconds or so that it normally shows a preview, and the
> image gets written to the CF card (since I'm not hooked to the
> computer). I can go into the "review images on the card" mode and see
> my black images there.
>
> Basically, everything seems normal. Except the images are now coming
> out black. There's no error messages.
>
> I did the "reset all camera settings" command to make sure that someone
> hadn't fiddled with the camera and put it in a weird mode. Still all
> black. Doesn't matter if it is in manual mode, or one of the automatic
> modes, or if it is using flash or not. All black.
>
> The building air conditioning is off on the weekend, but we had a record
> cold weekend. 30 degrees F colder than the previous weekend (the one
> when I ran the successful test). So, I don't think there is much chance
> that the camera overheated and damaged itself.
>
> Anyone have any ideas as to what might be wrong here?
>

Haven't heard of that with EOS, but both my IXUS 70 and S2IS
stopped taking photos and just produced all black. The
preview on the screen was all black too, so I figured it had
to be the sensor. Both of them, when they were sent to Canon
for repair came back with "No Fault Found", and have both
worked perfectly since they came back (about a year for the
S2, about 3 months for the Ixus).
Try firing the camera without lens to see if both the
shutter and mirror are moving and you can see the sensor. If
so, then it sounds like your sensor has died. I'm sure if
you send it off to Canon for a warranty repair, it will come
back "No Fault Found" and work perfectly.
 
Reply With Quote
 
nospam
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-21-2008, 09:30 PM
In article <(E-Mail Removed)>, Robert Coe
<(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

> BTW, ignore the "Not unusual with that brand," which is absurd. Rich is a
> ritual Canon basher, and his editorial pronouncements on such matters aren't
> worth a crap.


don't you mean everything basher?
 
Reply With Quote
 
Yoshi
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-21-2008, 09:36 PM

"Tim Smith" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed)-sjc.supernews.net...
>
> Howdy. I'm not a camera guy (a digital point and shoot is about my
> normal limit of semi-competence, so a digital SLR holds many mysteries
> for me), but am trying to make simple use of a Canon EOS Digital Rebel,
> model DS6041, for a project. We need to take some time-lapse photos,
> and are using this camera, hooked up to AC power, and a computer running
> Canon's Remote Capture software. I put the camera in full manual mode,
> turned off the autofocus switch on the lens, and manually focused it,
> and set the aperture and exposure with the Remote Capture software, and
> took pictures with that until I found an aperture and exposure that were
> good. I then ran a test over a weekend, one frame every 3 minutes.
>
> The test ran fine.
>
> We then set it to one frame every 2 minutes, set to do enough frames to
> cover a week, started it on a Monday, and checked it throughout the
> week. It ran like a champ. Over the weekend, however, something went
> wrong. All the images started coming out solid black. Somewhere over
> the weekend, Remote Capture crashed. I don't know if these two events
> are related.
>
> Anyway, the camera now only seems to shoot black images. If I power it
> down, disconnect it from the computer, power it up, and take a shot
> manually, it is black. The preview LCD comes on, showing the black
> image, for the 4 seconds or so that it normally shows a preview, and the
> image gets written to the CF card (since I'm not hooked to the
> computer). I can go into the "review images on the card" mode and see
> my black images there.
>
> Basically, everything seems normal. Except the images are now coming
> out black. There's no error messages.
>
> I did the "reset all camera settings" command to make sure that someone
> hadn't fiddled with the camera and put it in a weird mode. Still all
> black. Doesn't matter if it is in manual mode, or one of the automatic
> modes, or if it is using flash or not. All black.
>
> The building air conditioning is off on the weekend, but we had a record
> cold weekend. 30 degrees F colder than the previous weekend (the one
> when I ran the successful test). So, I don't think there is much chance
> that the camera overheated and damaged itself.
>
> Anyone have any ideas as to what might be wrong here?
>
> --
> --Tim Smith


Canon is infamous for poor QC. A little homework before making your choice
would have steered you toward a more reliable brand.

Yoshi


 
Reply With Quote
 
William Hathaway via PhotoKB.com
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-21-2008, 10:37 PM
It would be interesting to know how many pictures that camera has made over
its life.

Sounds like for the sessions being talked about between 4500 and 5500 photo's
were taken. While this may number of photos is not be all that many for a
new camera if this camera has been used in this fashion a number of times it
could have a large number of exposures on the shutter and mirror.

William Hathaway

--
Message posted via PhotoKB.com
http://www.photokb.com/Uwe/Forums.as...l-slr/200804/1

 
Reply With Quote
 
Wolfgang Weisselberg
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      04-22-2008, 12:20 AM
Yoshi <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
> "Tim Smith" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message


[snip a good many lines]

> Canon is infamous for poor QC. A little homework before making your choice
> would have steered you toward a more reliable brand.


Yoshi is a well known Mario character. A little homework
will show it doesn't know a camera from a turtle.

See: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yoshi

-Wolfgang
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EOS Rebel XSi or Digital Rebel XTi Grover Digital SLR 14 06-07-2008 03:17 AM
Suddenly all shotcuts are dead davegahan Photoshop 8 03-03-2004 03:12 AM
Canon Rebel 2000 (aka EOS 300) and Digital Rebel Lens Compatibility BPO Canon 15 01-09-2004 06:12 AM
Difference between EOS-300D & EOS Rebel Digital ? ck Australia Photography 4 08-21-2003 06:48 AM