Photogtaphy Forums

Photography Forums > Photography Newsgroups > Software Archive > Photoshop > change language menu photoshop

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

change language menu photoshop

 
 
m...bos
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      05-09-2007, 12:52 PM
does anybody know if there plugins for photoshop, to change the language of
the menu? (for instance : english into dutch; or to make it the same
language of the operating system (mac or windows).

m...bos


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Rudy Benner
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      05-09-2007, 02:10 PM

"m...bos" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:4641c3ee$0$739$(E-Mail Removed) t.nl...
> does anybody know if there plugins for photoshop, to change the language
> of
> the menu? (for instance : english into dutch; or to make it the same
> language of the operating system (mac or windows).
>
> m...bos
>
>


I believe that is setup during the install process.


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Johan W. Elzenga
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      05-09-2007, 04:05 PM
Rudy Benner <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

> "m...bos" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
> news:4641c3ee$0$739$(E-Mail Removed) t.nl...
> > does anybody know if there plugins for photoshop, to change the language
> > of
> > the menu? (for instance : english into dutch; or to make it the same
> > language of the operating system (mac or windows).
> >
> > m...bos
> >
> >

>
> I believe that is setup during the install process.


Nope, neither. If you want Photoshop in another language, you have to
buy it in that other language.


--
Johan W. Elzenga johan<<at>>johanfoto.nl
Editor / Photographer http://www.johanfoto.com
 
Reply With Quote
 
SpaceGirl
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      05-09-2007, 05:05 PM
Johan W. Elzenga wrote:
> Rudy Benner <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:


>> I believe that is setup during the install process.

>
> Nope, neither. If you want Photoshop in another language, you have to
> buy it in that other language.
>
>


Yep. That's why adobe charge 210% of the US price here in the UK. For
localisation apparently. Wow, changing those S's to Z's must be
expensive work!

--

x theSpaceGirl (miranda)
 
Reply With Quote
 
Johan W. Elzenga
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      05-09-2007, 07:40 PM
SpaceGirl <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

> > Nope, neither. If you want Photoshop in another language, you have to
> > buy it in that other language.
> >
> >

>
> Yep. That's why adobe charge 210% of the US price here in the UK. For
> localisation apparently. Wow, changing those S's to Z's must be
> expensive work!


You forget changing 'color' to 'colour'. That explains it all.


--
Johan W. Elzenga johan<<at>>johanfoto.nl
Editor / Photographer http://www.johanfoto.com
 
Reply With Quote
 
Mike
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      05-09-2007, 10:47 PM
In article <1hxv85i.1wva97g12a4vusN%(E-Mail Removed)>, (E-Mail Removed)lid says...
> SpaceGirl <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>
> > > Nope, neither. If you want Photoshop in another language, you have to
> > > buy it in that other language.
> > >
> > >

> >
> > Yep. That's why adobe charge 210% of the US price here in the UK. For
> > localisation apparently. Wow, changing those S's to Z's must be
> > expensive work!

>
> You forget changing 'color' to 'colour'. That explains it all.
>

Yep - there is a BIG premium on the letter 'u'.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Dave
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      05-10-2007, 06:02 PM
On Thu, 10 May 2007 10:47:50 +1200, Mike <m.fee@iirrll..ccrrii..nnzz>
wrote:

>In article <1hxv85i.1wva97g12a4vusN%(E-Mail Removed)>, (E-Mail Removed)lid says...
>> SpaceGirl <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>>
>> > > Nope, neither. If you want Photoshop in another language, you have to
>> > > buy it in that other language.
>> > >
>> > >
>> >
>> > Yep. That's why adobe charge 210% of the US price here in the UK. For
>> > localisation apparently. Wow, changing those S's to Z's must be
>> > expensive work!

>>
>> You forget changing 'color' to 'colour'. That explains it all.
>>

>Yep - there is a BIG premium on the letter 'u'.


U sure?

Dave
 
Reply With Quote
 
Junior Member
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1

 
      09-11-2010, 08:38 PM
As of today, there is a easy way to change it to English:

First Step: Before you do anything, make sure you exit Photoshop! Otherwise you may experience problems.

The second step is to open the Photoshop program folder. On Windows, this is "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Photoshop " by default. If you installed the application with the Creative Suite or if you customized the installation path, this may vary, though.

If you are on a Macintosh (lucky you , I think you somehow need to open the application Package to access the files. I don't know any details of how to do this, and I am not even sure this method works on a Mac, as I don't have access to one. I'm afraid you are on your own there. Feel free to post your results here.

Ok, now look into the "Required" subfolder. There you will find two files, one named "tw10428.dat", and one named "tw12508.dat". Depending on you Photoshop version, you may have only one of these. These files contain the localized text strings (i.e. the translations of the menu items and dialog boxes and all that stuff) for your Photoshop.
The trick is to rename these files, so Photoshop won't be able to access them. I advise you to append ".bak" (for backup) to the file name, so you can change back later if you want to. I would recommend against deleting them.

If you are on a Photoshop version without Activation, you are done now. Start Photoshop the way you usually do, and the interface should appear in vintage US English.

If you are using newer version of Photoshop which has the the beloved Activation feature (the CS and CS2 versions if I remember correctly), you need to perform an additional step. If you skip this, Photoshop won't start because the activation wizard thinks it's being fooled.

In the main Photoshop application folder, go to the "Activation" subfolder. There you will find another subfolder named with your language acronym (eg. "de_DE" in the German version). Rename this folder to "en_US". Now you can start Photoshop, and the interface language has changed.

If you want to switch back to your native version, just rename the files and folder as the were before.

If anything went wrong (I told you you are doing this at your own risk!), don't despair, a re-install of the application should fix your problems
 
Reply With Quote
 
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1

 
      03-28-2011, 06:19 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mangavideo View Post
As of today, there is a easy way to change it to English:

First Step: Before you do anything, make sure you exit Photoshop! Otherwise you may experience problems.

The second step is to open the Photoshop program folder. On Windows, this is "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Photoshop " by default. If you installed the application with the Creative Suite or if you customized the installation path, this may vary, though.

If you are on a Macintosh (lucky you , I think you somehow need to open the application Package to access the files. I don't know any details of how to do this, and I am not even sure this method works on a Mac, as I don't have access to one. I'm afraid you are on your own there. Feel free to post your results here.

Ok, now look into the "Required" subfolder. There you will find two files, one named "tw10428.dat", and one named "tw12508.dat". Depending on you Photoshop version, you may have only one of these. These files contain the localized text strings (i.e. the translations of the menu items and dialog boxes and all that stuff) for your Photoshop.
The trick is to rename these files, so Photoshop won't be able to access them. I advise you to append ".bak" (for backup) to the file name, so you can change back later if you want to. I would recommend against deleting them.

If you are on a Photoshop version without Activation, you are done now. Start Photoshop the way you usually do, and the interface should appear in vintage US English.

If you are using newer version of Photoshop which has the the beloved Activation feature (the CS and CS2 versions if I remember correctly), you need to perform an additional step. If you skip this, Photoshop won't start because the activation wizard thinks it's being fooled.

In the main Photoshop application folder, go to the "Activation" subfolder. There you will find another subfolder named with your language acronym (eg. "de_DE" in the German version). Rename this folder to "en_US". Now you can start Photoshop, and the interface language has changed.

If you want to switch back to your native version, just rename the files and folder as the were before.

If anything went wrong (I told you you are doing this at your own risk!), don't despair, a re-install of the application should fix your problems






FOR WINDOWS VERSION:

C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Photoshop CS4\Locales\es_MX\Support Files

You will find tw10428.dat. i renamed it to tw10428.bck


Merci beaucoup
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing menu language on Sony camcorder Danny Sony 4 12-05-2005 06:26 PM
[reeldvd] language menu Joseph FORET Amateur Video Production 0 02-08-2005 12:37 PM
change language oubascuba-clamarnaud Photoshop 2 01-23-2005 01:53 AM
change language jurgen Photoshop 0 10-15-2004 04:33 PM
Hidden menu to change region codes of some DVD players... Leonid Makarovsky Amateur Video Production 3 07-20-2004 11:52 AM