Photogtaphy Forums

Photography Forums > Photography Newsgroups > Photography Archive > Digital Cameras > Elements 3.0, I can't believe they offered a demo

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

Elements 3.0, I can't believe they offered a demo

 
 
clutch@lycos.com
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      03-08-2005, 02:52 PM
I was all hot to buy Adobe Elements 3.0 since the healing brush seemed
like a neat feature and I really needed a good photo organizing
program and it seemed like their offering would fill the bill.

Well, OfficeMax didn't have it, said they do not carry adobe products,
Sam's club had microsoft stuff but no adobe, Staples didn't carry it
and BestBuy (I hate the place) only had it with some dvd software
bundled for 149.99 or what is known as full list.

Well, my employer has nice pipes so I downloaded the 122+MB demo from
adobe to my sony v3, yes, the camera can be a file sharing device, and
hurried home from work to test it.

On a 1.2Ghz 512MB athelon, it took 90 seconds to load to the startup
screen. Organizing my pictures was very slow. I just recently tried
picasa2 which doesn't allow putting your culls into a little pile that
you can get to when you want to, which is one of the features, I
wanted from Adobe.

The good news, is that I took part of the money I saved and bought the
1.7x tele adaptor for my Sony V-3.

Just my little mini rant,

Wes


--
Reply to:
Whiskey Echo Sierra Sierra AT Gee Tee EYE EYE dot COM
Lycos address is a spam trap.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Eric Miller
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      03-08-2005, 02:58 PM
1.2 Ghz Athlon with only 512mb of RAM? Maybe you should have tried it on a
400 mhz Pentium III first!

Photoshop CS loads in about 10 seconds on my 2.8Ghz P4 with 1gb RAM for
reference. Maybe its time for an upgrade.

Eric Miller


<(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed)...
> I was all hot to buy Adobe Elements 3.0 since the healing brush seemed
> like a neat feature and I really needed a good photo organizing
> program and it seemed like their offering would fill the bill.
>
> Well, OfficeMax didn't have it, said they do not carry adobe products,
> Sam's club had microsoft stuff but no adobe, Staples didn't carry it
> and BestBuy (I hate the place) only had it with some dvd software
> bundled for 149.99 or what is known as full list.
>
> Well, my employer has nice pipes so I downloaded the 122+MB demo from
> adobe to my sony v3, yes, the camera can be a file sharing device, and
> hurried home from work to test it.
>
> On a 1.2Ghz 512MB athelon, it took 90 seconds to load to the startup
> screen. Organizing my pictures was very slow. I just recently tried
> picasa2 which doesn't allow putting your culls into a little pile that
> you can get to when you want to, which is one of the features, I
> wanted from Adobe.
>
> The good news, is that I took part of the money I saved and bought the
> 1.7x tele adaptor for my Sony V-3.
>
> Just my little mini rant,
>
> Wes
>
>
> --
> Reply to:
> Whiskey Echo Sierra Sierra AT Gee Tee EYE EYE dot COM
> Lycos address is a spam trap.



 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
clutch@lycos.com
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      03-08-2005, 03:20 PM
"Eric Miller" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

>1.2 Ghz Athlon with only 512mb of RAM? Maybe you should have tried it on a
>400 mhz Pentium III first!
>
>Photoshop CS loads in about 10 seconds on my 2.8Ghz P4 with 1gb RAM for
>reference. Maybe its time for an upgrade.
>
>Eric Miller


I don't think so. Everything else that I run loads in a reasonable
amount of time.

I left out W2K SP4 from description.

Wes

--
Reply to:
Whiskey Echo Sierra Sierra AT Gee Tee EYE EYE dot COM
Lycos address is a spam trap.
 
Reply With Quote
 
clutch@lycos.com
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      03-08-2005, 03:25 PM
"Beano" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

>I'm sure there's a point in here somewhere.


You had to include my entire post to say that?



--
Reply to:
Whiskey Echo Sierra Sierra AT Gee Tee EYE EYE dot COM
Lycos address is a spam trap.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Ron Hunter
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      03-08-2005, 04:09 PM
(E-Mail Removed) wrote:
> I was all hot to buy Adobe Elements 3.0 since the healing brush seemed
> like a neat feature and I really needed a good photo organizing
> program and it seemed like their offering would fill the bill.
>
> Well, OfficeMax didn't have it, said they do not carry adobe products,
> Sam's club had microsoft stuff but no adobe, Staples didn't carry it
> and BestBuy (I hate the place) only had it with some dvd software
> bundled for 149.99 or what is known as full list.
>
> Well, my employer has nice pipes so I downloaded the 122+MB demo from
> adobe to my sony v3, yes, the camera can be a file sharing device, and
> hurried home from work to test it.
>
> On a 1.2Ghz 512MB athelon, it took 90 seconds to load to the startup
> screen. Organizing my pictures was very slow. I just recently tried
> picasa2 which doesn't allow putting your culls into a little pile that
> you can get to when you want to, which is one of the features, I
> wanted from Adobe.
>
> The good news, is that I took part of the money I saved and bought the
> 1.7x tele adaptor for my Sony V-3.
>
> Just my little mini rant,
>
> Wes
>
>

Just wondering what, besides your slow computer, turned you off.
Granted, the Organizer is a bit buggy, but the editor is unmatched at
this price level. With Amazon rebates, it cost me only $49.95. The
trial version (NOT DEMO), is a bit slow, which is a pretty DUMB way to
disable a trial program, in my opinion. Perhaps you can get someone to
let you try the installed commercial version on a machine similar to
yours. I find it quite acceptable on my 1.3ghz laptop. It is a bit
slow to load the editor portion from the Organizer, but one open,
doesn't have to reload.


--
Ron Hunter (E-Mail Removed)
 
Reply With Quote
 
Ron Hunter
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      03-08-2005, 04:11 PM
(E-Mail Removed) wrote:
> "Eric Miller" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>
>
>>1.2 Ghz Athlon with only 512mb of RAM? Maybe you should have tried it on a
>>400 mhz Pentium III first!
>>
>>Photoshop CS loads in about 10 seconds on my 2.8Ghz P4 with 1gb RAM for
>>reference. Maybe its time for an upgrade.
>>
>>Eric Miller

>
>
> I don't think so. Everything else that I run loads in a reasonable
> amount of time.
>
> I left out W2K SP4 from description.
>
> Wes
>


Load speed isn't a major advantage of PSE3, but once you get it loaded,
it does a good job.


--
Ron Hunter (E-Mail Removed)
 
Reply With Quote
 
Roger
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      03-08-2005, 04:50 PM
On Tue, 08 Mar 2005 16:17:55 GMT, "Joseph Meehan"
<(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

> E3 is not a fast loader, but a good machine (generally means both speed
>and RAM size (512 is small for serious graphic work) will load it a lot
>faster than that. ... I just tried mine and it loaded in 13 seconds.


Joseph,

I'm going to have to either upgrade or replace (same difference?) my
main computer that controls my scanner. Would you mind telling me what
your machine configuration is? It would help me decide on a direction
for my next step.

Thanks,
Roger
 
Reply With Quote
 
paul
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      03-08-2005, 05:30 PM
Ron Hunter wrote:
>
> Load speed isn't a major advantage of PSE3, but once you get it loaded,
> it does a good job.



Full PS is also very slow loading.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Ron Hunter
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      03-08-2005, 06:25 PM
Joseph Meehan wrote:
> (E-Mail Removed) wrote:
>
>>"Eric Miller" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>>
>>
>>>1.2 Ghz Athlon with only 512mb of RAM? Maybe you should have tried
>>>it on a 400 mhz Pentium III first!
>>>
>>>Photoshop CS loads in about 10 seconds on my 2.8Ghz P4 with 1gb RAM
>>>for reference. Maybe its time for an upgrade.
>>>
>>>Eric Miller

>>
>>I don't think so. Everything else that I run loads in a reasonable
>>amount of time.
>>
>>I left out W2K SP4 from description.
>>
>>Wes

>
>
> E3 is not a fast loader, but a good machine (generally means both speed
> and RAM size (512 is small for serious graphic work) will load it a lot
> faster than that. ... I just tried mine and it loaded in 13 seconds.
>

It takes 22 seconds to load to Organizer on my AThlon XP 2200+ (1.8
Ghz). Loading the editor after that takes another 30 seconds (rarely
necessary). I can wait that long.


--
Ron Hunter (E-Mail Removed)
 
Reply With Quote
 
Ron Hunter
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      03-08-2005, 06:27 PM
Roger wrote:
> On Tue, 08 Mar 2005 16:17:55 GMT, "Joseph Meehan"
> <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>
>
>> E3 is not a fast loader, but a good machine (generally means both speed
>>and RAM size (512 is small for serious graphic work) will load it a lot
>>faster than that. ... I just tried mine and it loaded in 13 seconds.

>
>
> Joseph,
>
> I'm going to have to either upgrade or replace (same difference?) my
> main computer that controls my scanner. Would you mind telling me what
> your machine configuration is? It would help me decide on a direction
> for my next step.
>
> Thanks,
> Roger


Are we talking PC or Mac? The more RAM, and faster processor, the
better. WinXP for the PC and OS X (latest version at the time) for the
Mac. A large HD is also a plus if you intend to work with a lot of
pictures.


--
Ron Hunter (E-Mail Removed)
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Many Advantages Offered by a Digital Camera Info Dude Photography 2 01-03-2007 01:41 AM
believe flash meter or believe flashlight sendor? Steven Woody 35mm Cameras 7 07-17-2006 08:46 AM
how often are rebates offered? tor Digital SLR 8 02-01-2006 11:16 PM
Canon 20D grip fix offered Alan Browne Canon 6 08-03-2005 08:56 PM
Offered an EOS 10 for B+W Mark Trueman UK Photography 1 10-28-2003 07:58 PM