Photogtaphy Forums

Photography Forums > Photography Newsgroups > Photography Archive > Digital Cameras > Scripting Photoshop?

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

Scripting Photoshop?

 
 
Dudley Hanks
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      03-14-2008, 04:32 AM
There's another thread going titled "Longshot," or something similar, but
this is a really, really, REALLY longshot.

Since my screen-reading software doesn't recognize Photoshop's menus, and
graphic progs are notoriously hard for visually-challenged users even if
they can access the menus, I'm wondering if there is any way to run Adobe
via scripts. This is to say, if a guy assembled a script file with whatever
commands would be used, let's say "Darken 10%, Increase Contrast 15%, Reduce
Cyan by 5%, etc, is it possible to start Adobe with the parameters of the
file to use and the command script and run it like a batch processing job?

The idea just occured to me that I might be able to make a few adjustments
to my shots myself if this is possible.

Thanks for your time,
Dudley


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Dudley Hanks
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      03-14-2008, 05:03 AM

"Paul Furman" <paul-@-edgehill.net> wrote in message
news:1ynCj.3011$(E-Mail Removed) ...
> Dudley Hanks wrote:
>> There's another thread going titled "Longshot," or something similar, but
>> this is a really, really, REALLY longshot.
>>
>> Since my screen-reading software doesn't recognize Photoshop's menus, and
>> graphic progs are notoriously hard for visually-challenged users even if
>> they can access the menus, I'm wondering if there is any way to run Adobe
>> via scripts. This is to say, if a guy assembled a script file with
>> whatever commands would be used, let's say "Darken 10%, Increase Contrast
>> 15%, Reduce Cyan by 5%, etc, is it possible to start Adobe with the
>> parameters of the file to use and the command script and run it like a
>> batch processing job?
>>
>> The idea just occured to me that I might be able to make a few
>> adjustments to my shots myself if this is possible.

>
> Yes but you'd have to write & run those scripts through photoshop :-)


>
> Maybe not, I'm not sure, just teasing sort of... but yeah PS is very
> customizable with actions & droplets in photoshop. Some of the more
> advanced stuff is done in a text editor I think but I really don't know.
> Are you any good at programming? Try googling "photoshop .atn" and look at
> the action files in notepad.


Yeah, I do a bit of C++ programming, and a very little VBasic and Java.

Thanks for the starting point, Paul,
Dudley


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Dudley Hanks
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      03-14-2008, 05:06 AM

"nospam" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:130320082157486017%(E-Mail Removed)...
> In article <mdnCj.108339$C61.57213@edtnps89>, Dudley Hanks
> <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>
>> Since my screen-reading software doesn't recognize Photoshop's menus, and
>> graphic progs are notoriously hard for visually-challenged users even if
>> they can access the menus, I'm wondering if there is any way to run Adobe
>> via scripts. This is to say, if a guy assembled a script file with
>> whatever
>> commands would be used, let's say "Darken 10%, Increase Contrast 15%,
>> Reduce
>> Cyan by 5%, etc, is it possible to start Adobe with the parameters of the
>> file to use and the command script and run it like a batch processing
>> job?

>
> you can create actions, droplets, or script photoshop itself using
> javascript, visual basic (windows) or applesrcipt (macintosh).
>
> more info:
> <http://partners.adobe.com/public/dev...index_scriptin
> g.html>


Great stuff...

Thanks,
Dudley


 
Reply With Quote
 
nospam
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      03-14-2008, 05:57 AM
In article <mdnCj.108339$C61.57213@edtnps89>, Dudley Hanks
<(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

> Since my screen-reading software doesn't recognize Photoshop's menus, and
> graphic progs are notoriously hard for visually-challenged users even if
> they can access the menus, I'm wondering if there is any way to run Adobe
> via scripts. This is to say, if a guy assembled a script file with whatever
> commands would be used, let's say "Darken 10%, Increase Contrast 15%, Reduce
> Cyan by 5%, etc, is it possible to start Adobe with the parameters of the
> file to use and the command script and run it like a batch processing job?


you can create actions, droplets, or script photoshop itself using
javascript, visual basic (windows) or applesrcipt (macintosh).

more info:
<http://partners.adobe.com/public/dev...index_scriptin
g.html>
 
Reply With Quote
 
ray
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      03-14-2008, 04:18 PM
On Fri, 14 Mar 2008 04:32:18 +0000, Dudley Hanks wrote:

> There's another thread going titled "Longshot," or something similar,
> but this is a really, really, REALLY longshot.
>
> Since my screen-reading software doesn't recognize Photoshop's menus,
> and graphic progs are notoriously hard for visually-challenged users
> even if they can access the menus, I'm wondering if there is any way to
> run Adobe via scripts. This is to say, if a guy assembled a script file
> with whatever commands would be used, let's say "Darken 10%, Increase
> Contrast 15%, Reduce Cyan by 5%, etc, is it possible to start Adobe with
> the parameters of the file to use and the command script and run it like
> a batch processing job?
>
> The idea just occured to me that I might be able to make a few
> adjustments to my shots myself if this is possible.
>
> Thanks for your time,
> Dudley


Trivial with Image Magick - and it is free.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Dudley Hanks
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      03-14-2008, 06:51 PM

"ray" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed)...
> On Fri, 14 Mar 2008 04:32:18 +0000, Dudley Hanks wrote:
>
>> There's another thread going titled "Longshot," or something similar,
>> but this is a really, really, REALLY longshot.
>>
>> Since my screen-reading software doesn't recognize Photoshop's menus,
>> and graphic progs are notoriously hard for visually-challenged users
>> even if they can access the menus, I'm wondering if there is any way to
>> run Adobe via scripts. This is to say, if a guy assembled a script file
>> with whatever commands would be used, let's say "Darken 10%, Increase
>> Contrast 15%, Reduce Cyan by 5%, etc, is it possible to start Adobe with
>> the parameters of the file to use and the command script and run it like
>> a batch processing job?
>>
>> The idea just occured to me that I might be able to make a few
>> adjustments to my shots myself if this is possible.
>>
>> Thanks for your time,
>> Dudley

>
> Trivial with Image Magick - and it is free.


Thanks for the info; I'll check it out.

Dudley


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scripting Adjustment layers Ken Photoshop 3 08-28-2003 11:54 PM
Scripting in Video editing programs - Amateur Video Production 2 08-15-2003 01:33 AM
Scripting Tutorial Long John Silver Halide Photoshop 0 08-11-2003 03:34 PM
Req: Utility For Storyboarding And Scripting Nati Tal Amateur Video Production 2 07-15-2003 12:53 AM
Scripting Lawrence Elliott Photoshop 0 07-11-2003 10:20 AM