Photogtaphy Forums

Photography Forums > Photography Newsgroups > Software Archive > Professional Video Production > SONY XV-D1000 SEG

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

SONY XV-D1000 SEG

 
 
steventv@insightbb.com
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      12-19-2004, 01:05 AM

Anyone know anything about this switcher or use one?
It seems reviews are not to be found on this product, can anyone help?

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
kay & wand
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      12-20-2004, 01:42 AM

<(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed) oups.com...
>
> Anyone know anything about this switcher or use one?
> It seems reviews are not to be found on this product, can anyone help?
>


yes and yes.

considering it's an antique, you'll find very little about it anywhere in
cyberspace.

what exactly do you want to know?

leslie


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Steve Wills
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      12-20-2004, 02:07 AM
Wondering of it adds too much artifacting to a signal to use on cable just
doing straight cuts. I just need something that cuts fairly clean to switch
3 composite DV cameras.


On 12/19/04 8:42 PM, in article
I5qxd.79897$(E-Mail Removed), "kay & wand"
<(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

>
> <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
> news:(E-Mail Removed) oups.com...
>>
>> Anyone know anything about this switcher or use one?
>> It seems reviews are not to be found on this product, can anyone help?
>>

>
> yes and yes.
>
> considering it's an antique, you'll find very little about it anywhere in
> cyberspace.
>
> what exactly do you want to know?
>
> leslie
>
>


 
Reply With Quote
 
kay & wand
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      12-20-2004, 05:51 AM
it wasn't a bad switcher in it's day. quite clean on most things (forget
chromakey!!). the only problem i see is genlocking it to your cameras?

it requires sync for clean cuts...

which cameras are you going to use?

leslie

"Steve Wills" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:BDEB9E02.2919%(E-Mail Removed)...
> Wondering of it adds too much artifacting to a signal to use on cable just
> doing straight cuts. I just need something that cuts fairly clean to
> switch
> 3 composite DV cameras.
>
>
> On 12/19/04 8:42 PM, in article
> I5qxd.79897$(E-Mail Removed), "kay & wand"
> <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>
>>
>> <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
>> news:(E-Mail Removed) oups.com...
>>>
>>> Anyone know anything about this switcher or use one?
>>> It seems reviews are not to be found on this product, can anyone help?
>>>

>>
>> yes and yes.
>>
>> considering it's an antique, you'll find very little about it anywhere in
>> cyberspace.
>>
>> what exactly do you want to know?
>>
>> leslie
>>
>>

>



 
Reply With Quote
 
Steve Wills
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      12-20-2004, 01:21 PM
I'll be using one JVC DV-500 with sync but the others are consumer DV
cameras. With it being composite I thought it didn't need sync. It takes RCA
Jacks or S-video only.

I'll only be using it for straight cuts to a master tape so my editing
process will speed up instead of editing 3 different iso cameras which takes
up a lot of time.

This is the only one I have found that will take 3 cameras (which I need).

The sync issue is new to be with this switcher since I though it was
internal in the switcher since it's composite. I don't see where sync would
go into this switcher.

Thanks for the help.




On 12/20/04 12:51 AM, in article
QLtxd.81115$(E-Mail Removed), "kay & wand"
<(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

> it wasn't a bad switcher in it's day. quite clean on most things (forget
> chromakey!!). the only problem i see is genlocking it to your cameras?
>
> it requires sync for clean cuts...
>
> which cameras are you going to use?
>
> leslie
>
> "Steve Wills" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
> news:BDEB9E02.2919%(E-Mail Removed)...
>> Wondering of it adds too much artifacting to a signal to use on cable just
>> doing straight cuts. I just need something that cuts fairly clean to
>> switch
>> 3 composite DV cameras.
>>
>>
>> On 12/19/04 8:42 PM, in article
>> I5qxd.79897$(E-Mail Removed), "kay & wand"
>> <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>>
>>>
>>> <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
>>> news:(E-Mail Removed) oups.com...
>>>>
>>>> Anyone know anything about this switcher or use one?
>>>> It seems reviews are not to be found on this product, can anyone help?
>>>>
>>>
>>> yes and yes.
>>>
>>> considering it's an antique, you'll find very little about it anywhere in
>>> cyberspace.
>>>
>>> what exactly do you want to know?
>>>
>>> leslie
>>>
>>>

>>

>
>


 
Reply With Quote
 
kay & wand
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      12-21-2004, 05:27 AM
oopps. i think i might have confused us a bit! i was thinking of the old
sony seg 2000, not the 1000, with which i'm unfamilar. however, that said,
does it have inputs for sync? if not, you're probably fine using it as a
simple composite mixer.

anyway, to be safe, is there anyway of connecting a couple of cameras and a
monitor to give it a test run?

better safe than sorry...

leslie


"Steve Wills" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:BDEC3C0D.2933%(E-Mail Removed)...
> I'll be using one JVC DV-500 with sync but the others are consumer DV
> cameras. With it being composite I thought it didn't need sync. It takes
> RCA
> Jacks or S-video only.
>
> I'll only be using it for straight cuts to a master tape so my editing
> process will speed up instead of editing 3 different iso cameras which
> takes
> up a lot of time.
>
> This is the only one I have found that will take 3 cameras (which I need).
>
> The sync issue is new to be with this switcher since I though it was
> internal in the switcher since it's composite. I don't see where sync
> would
> go into this switcher.
>
> Thanks for the help.
>
>
>
>
> On 12/20/04 12:51 AM, in article
> QLtxd.81115$(E-Mail Removed), "kay & wand"
> <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>
>> it wasn't a bad switcher in it's day. quite clean on most things (forget
>> chromakey!!). the only problem i see is genlocking it to your cameras?
>>
>> it requires sync for clean cuts...
>>
>> which cameras are you going to use?
>>
>> leslie
>>
>> "Steve Wills" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
>> news:BDEB9E02.2919%(E-Mail Removed)...
>>> Wondering of it adds too much artifacting to a signal to use on cable
>>> just
>>> doing straight cuts. I just need something that cuts fairly clean to
>>> switch
>>> 3 composite DV cameras.
>>>
>>>
>>> On 12/19/04 8:42 PM, in article
>>> I5qxd.79897$(E-Mail Removed), "kay & wand"
>>> <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>>>
>>>>
>>>> <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
>>>> news:(E-Mail Removed) oups.com...
>>>>>
>>>>> Anyone know anything about this switcher or use one?
>>>>> It seems reviews are not to be found on this product, can anyone help?
>>>>>
>>>>
>>>> yes and yes.
>>>>
>>>> considering it's an antique, you'll find very little about it anywhere
>>>> in
>>>> cyberspace.
>>>>
>>>> what exactly do you want to know?
>>>>
>>>> leslie
>>>>
>>>>
>>>

>>
>>

>



 
Reply With Quote
 
Steve Wills
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      12-21-2004, 03:56 PM
> does it have inputs for sync? if not, you're probably fine using it as a
> simple composite mixer.


No input for sync. Composite only and I have no way to test it.

I was hoping it would just do clean cuts...that's all I need, no dissolves
or special effects (I do all that in post).

Thanks for the help!


On 12/21/04 12:27 AM, in article
8vOxd.82729$(E-Mail Removed), "kay & wand"
<(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

> oopps. i think i might have confused us a bit! i was thinking of the old
> sony seg 2000, not the 1000, with which i'm unfamilar. however, that said,
> does it have inputs for sync? if not, you're probably fine using it as a
> simple composite mixer.
>
> anyway, to be safe, is there anyway of connecting a couple of cameras and a
> monitor to give it a test run?
>
> better safe than sorry...
>
> leslie
>
>
> "Steve Wills" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
> news:BDEC3C0D.2933%(E-Mail Removed)...
>> I'll be using one JVC DV-500 with sync but the others are consumer DV
>> cameras. With it being composite I thought it didn't need sync. It takes
>> RCA
>> Jacks or S-video only.
>>
>> I'll only be using it for straight cuts to a master tape so my editing
>> process will speed up instead of editing 3 different iso cameras which
>> takes
>> up a lot of time.
>>
>> This is the only one I have found that will take 3 cameras (which I need).
>>
>> The sync issue is new to be with this switcher since I though it was
>> internal in the switcher since it's composite. I don't see where sync
>> would
>> go into this switcher.
>>
>> Thanks for the help.
>>
>>
>>
>>
>> On 12/20/04 12:51 AM, in article
>> QLtxd.81115$(E-Mail Removed), "kay & wand"
>> <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>>
>>> it wasn't a bad switcher in it's day. quite clean on most things (forget
>>> chromakey!!). the only problem i see is genlocking it to your cameras?
>>>
>>> it requires sync for clean cuts...
>>>
>>> which cameras are you going to use?
>>>
>>> leslie
>>>
>>> "Steve Wills" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
>>> news:BDEB9E02.2919%(E-Mail Removed)...
>>>> Wondering of it adds too much artifacting to a signal to use on cable
>>>> just
>>>> doing straight cuts. I just need something that cuts fairly clean to
>>>> switch
>>>> 3 composite DV cameras.
>>>>
>>>>
>>>> On 12/19/04 8:42 PM, in article
>>>> I5qxd.79897$(E-Mail Removed), "kay & wand"
>>>> <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>> <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
>>>>> news:(E-Mail Removed) oups.com...
>>>>>>
>>>>>> Anyone know anything about this switcher or use one?
>>>>>> It seems reviews are not to be found on this product, can anyone help?
>>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>> yes and yes.
>>>>>
>>>>> considering it's an antique, you'll find very little about it anywhere
>>>>> in
>>>>> cyberspace.
>>>>>
>>>>> what exactly do you want to know?
>>>>>
>>>>> leslie
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>
>>>
>>>

>>

>
>


 
Reply With Quote
 
david.mccall
Guest
Posts: n/a

 
      12-21-2004, 04:46 PM

"Steve Wills" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:BDEDB1CB.2BF6%(E-Mail Removed)...
>> does it have inputs for sync? if not, you're probably fine using it as a
>> simple composite mixer.

>
> No input for sync. Composite only and I have no way to test it.
>
> I was hoping it would just do clean cuts...that's all I need, no dissolves
> or special effects (I do all that in post).
>
> Thanks for the help!
>

Without all of the devices in the chain being synched together,
I wouldn't expect to even get clean cuts. Some prosumer switchers
have built-in frame synchronizers that will allow just about anything
to be plugged in without an external source, but that gives you an
extra A/D - D/A cycle, plus a frame or more of delay in the video.
Most people wouldn't notice the loss of lip-sync at this level, but
if you loose much more than that along the way, it does become
quite noticeable.

I don't know that specific switcher, but most switchers of that
vintage had provisions to either provide it's internal sync to the
other devices connected to the system, or (at minimum) the
ability to receive external sync from the external source that is
being fed to the other devices (sometimes both options are
available.

Neither of these options are of any use with consumer/prosumer
cameras like the XL-1, or VX-2000. You need more serious
pro cameras that have external synch inputs, plus you need a
waveform monitor/vectorscope and an engineer that knows
how to use them to get all of the cameras and other equipment
matched up.

David


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sony DSC-W5 (Sony DSC-W1) owners BeTu Sony 1 12-30-2005 09:57 PM
Sony Cybershot DSC-W1... Bad Camera...Bad Customer Service by Sony... Read on... unavailable Sony 42 06-30-2004 11:55 AM
Sony Cybershot DSC-W1... Bad Camera...Bad Customer Service by Sony... Read on... unavailable Sony 41 06-29-2004 05:45 AM
Sony DSCF717 How can I put non Sony jpg pictures in the camera for a slide show? Dan Sony 2 12-08-2003 12:36 AM
Sony TRV230 vs. Sony TRV245 (UK Models) J.B. Amateur Video Production 3 07-17-2003 01:03 AM