Canon AT-1: I need help

Discussion in 'Canon' started by Bubba76, Oct 14, 2004.

  1. Bubba76

    Bubba76 Guest

    Hi I'm a newbie of this group. I recently get this camera, but I
    couldn't be able to use it. I cannot load the film because the film
    advance lever didn't turn (it can move only about 30°). The battery is
    charged. I saw that the film rewind button is pressed, so i think it
    block my camera. i'm not able to release this button. anyone of you
    can help or advise me about this problem.

    thanx in advance
     
    Bubba76, Oct 14, 2004
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. Bubba76

    Robert Barr Guest

    Bubba76 wrote:
    > Hi I'm a newbie of this group. I recently get this camera, but I
    > couldn't be able to use it. I cannot load the film because the film
    > advance lever didn't turn (it can move only about 30°).


    You do realize that you have to release the shutter each time you
    operate the film advance, right? It'll take 2 or 3 shutter releases to
    get the film rolling properly onto the takeup reel. Then close the
    door, put the lens cap on, release the shutter & advance the film until
    the frame counter points to '1'.

    Unless I'm misunderstanding the question...
     
    Robert Barr, Oct 14, 2004
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. On Thu, 14 Oct 2004 20:51:09 GMT, Robert Barr
    <> wrote:

    >
    >
    >Bubba76 wrote:
    >> Hi I'm a newbie of this group. I recently get this camera, but I
    >> couldn't be able to use it. I cannot load the film because the film
    >> advance lever didn't turn (it can move only about 30°).

    >
    >You do realize that you have to release the shutter each time you
    >operate the film advance, right? It'll take 2 or 3 shutter releases to
    >get the film rolling properly onto the takeup reel. Then close the
    >door, put the lens cap on, release the shutter & advance the film until
    >the frame counter points to '1'.
    >
    >Unless I'm misunderstanding the question...


    You might find this helpful.
    http://www.canonfd.com/choose.htm
     
    old whats his name, Oct 15, 2004
    #3
  4. Bubba76

    Bubba76 Guest

    old whats his name <> wrote in message news:<>...
    > On Thu, 14 Oct 2004 20:51:09 GMT, Robert Barr
    > <> wrote:
    >
    > >
    > >
    > >Bubba76 wrote:
    > >> Hi I'm a newbie of this group. I recently get this camera, but I
    > >> couldn't be able to use it. I cannot load the film because the film
    > >> advance lever didn't turn (it can move only about 30°).

    > >
    > >You do realize that you have to release the shutter each time you
    > >operate the film advance, right? It'll take 2 or 3 shutter releases to
    > >get the film rolling properly onto the takeup reel. Then close the
    > >door, put the lens cap on, release the shutter & advance the film until
    > >the frame counter points to '1'.
    > >
    > >Unless I'm misunderstanding the question...

    >
    > You might find this helpful.
    > http://www.canonfd.com/choose.htm


    Thanks, but I think you didn't understand my question. The camera
    seems don't do nothing. i think it happens because the rewind button
    is pressed. I'm not able to release it, and i don't know why.
    i hope now i'm a bit more clear and that you can answer me.
     
    Bubba76, Oct 15, 2004
    #4
  5. Bubba76

    Bubba76 Guest

    old whats his name <> wrote in message news:<>...
    > On Thu, 14 Oct 2004 20:51:09 GMT, Robert Barr
    > <> wrote:
    >
    > >
    > >
    > >Bubba76 wrote:
    > >> Hi I'm a newbie of this group. I recently get this camera, but I
    > >> couldn't be able to use it. I cannot load the film because the film
    > >> advance lever didn't turn (it can move only about 30°).

    > >
    > >You do realize that you have to release the shutter each time you
    > >operate the film advance, right? It'll take 2 or 3 shutter releases to
    > >get the film rolling properly onto the takeup reel. Then close the
    > >door, put the lens cap on, release the shutter & advance the film until
    > >the frame counter points to '1'.
    > >
    > >Unless I'm misunderstanding the question...

    >
    > You might find this helpful.
    > http://www.canonfd.com/choose.htm


    Thanks, but I think you didn't understand my question. The camera
    seems don't do nothing. i think it happens because the rewind button
    is pressed. I'm not able to release it, and i don't know why.
    i hope now i'm a bit more clear and that you can answer me.
     
    Bubba76, Oct 15, 2004
    #5
  6. Bubba76

    Bubba76 Guest

    Robert Barr <> wrote in message news:<1FBbd.7956$>...
    > Bubba76 wrote:
    > > Hi I'm a newbie of this group. I recently get this camera, but I
    > > couldn't be able to use it. I cannot load the film because the film
    > > advance lever didn't turn (it can move only about 30°).

    >
    > You do realize that you have to release the shutter each time you
    > operate the film advance, right? It'll take 2 or 3 shutter releases to
    > get the film rolling properly onto the takeup reel. Then close the
    > door, put the lens cap on, release the shutter & advance the film until
    > the frame counter points to '1'.
    >
    > Unless I'm misunderstanding the question...


    Thanks, but I think you didn't understand my question. The camera
    seems don't do nothing. i think it happens because the rewind button
    is pressed. I'm not able to release it, and i don't know why.
    i hope now i'm a bit more clear and that you can answer me.
     
    Bubba76, Oct 15, 2004
    #6
  7. Bubba76

    Bubba76 Guest

    Robert Barr <> wrote in message news:<1FBbd.7956$>...
    > Bubba76 wrote:
    > > Hi I'm a newbie of this group. I recently get this camera, but I
    > > couldn't be able to use it. I cannot load the film because the film
    > > advance lever didn't turn (it can move only about 30°).

    >
    > You do realize that you have to release the shutter each time you
    > operate the film advance, right? It'll take 2 or 3 shutter releases to
    > get the film rolling properly onto the takeup reel. Then close the
    > door, put the lens cap on, release the shutter & advance the film until
    > the frame counter points to '1'.
    >
    > Unless I'm misunderstanding the question...


    Thanks, but I think you didn't understand my question. The camera
    seems don't do nothing. i think it happens because the rewind button
    is pressed. I'm not able to release it, and i don't know why.
    i hope now i'm a bit more clear and that you can answer me.
     
    Bubba76, Oct 15, 2004
    #7
  8. Bubba76

    Bubba76 Guest

    Robert Barr <> wrote in message news:<1FBbd.7956$>...
    > Bubba76 wrote:
    > > Hi I'm a newbie of this group. I recently get this camera, but I
    > > couldn't be able to use it. I cannot load the film because the film
    > > advance lever didn't turn (it can move only about 30°).

    >
    > You do realize that you have to release the shutter each time you
    > operate the film advance, right? It'll take 2 or 3 shutter releases to
    > get the film rolling properly onto the takeup reel. Then close the
    > door, put the lens cap on, release the shutter & advance the film until
    > the frame counter points to '1'.
    >
    > Unless I'm misunderstanding the question...


    Thanks, but I think you didn't understand my question. The camera
    seems don't do nothing. i think it happens because the rewind button
    is pressed. I'm not able to release it, and i don't know why.
    i hope now i'm a bit more clear and that you can answer me.
     
    Bubba76, Oct 15, 2004
    #8
  9. Bubba76

    Bubba76 Guest

    old whats his name <> wrote in message news:<>...
    > On Thu, 14 Oct 2004 20:51:09 GMT, Robert Barr
    > <> wrote:
    >
    > >
    > >
    > >Bubba76 wrote:
    > >> Hi I'm a newbie of this group. I recently get this camera, but I
    > >> couldn't be able to use it. I cannot load the film because the film
    > >> advance lever didn't turn (it can move only about 30°).

    > >
    > >You do realize that you have to release the shutter each time you
    > >operate the film advance, right? It'll take 2 or 3 shutter releases to
    > >get the film rolling properly onto the takeup reel. Then close the
    > >door, put the lens cap on, release the shutter & advance the film until
    > >the frame counter points to '1'.
    > >
    > >Unless I'm misunderstanding the question...

    >
    > You might find this helpful.
    > http://www.canonfd.com/choose.htm


    thanx but i just look in this website
     
    Bubba76, Oct 15, 2004
    #9
  10. Bubba76 wrote in message
    <>...
    >Hi I'm a newbie of this group. I recently get this camera, but I
    >couldn't be able to use it. I cannot load the film because the film
    >advance lever didn't turn (it can move only about 30°). The battery is
    >charged. I saw that the film rewind button is pressed, so i think it
    >block my camera. i'm not able to release this button. anyone of you
    >can help or advise me about this problem.
    >
    >thanx in advance


    Try jiggling the sprockets which advance the film. This may release the
    rewind button.
     
    Fred Anonymous, Oct 15, 2004
    #10
  11. Bubba76

    me Guest

    "Bubba76" <> wrote in message
    news:...
    > Hi I'm a newbie of this group. I recently get this camera, but I
    > couldn't be able to use it. I cannot load the film because the film
    > advance lever didn't turn (it can move only about 30°). The battery is
    > charged. I saw that the film rewind button is pressed, so i think it
    > block my camera. i'm not able to release this button. anyone of you
    > can help or advise me about this problem.
    >
    > thanx in advance


    Look at the shutter lock lever to see if it is in the lock position. If it
    is locked the mark on the lever will align with the L underneath the lever.
    If the batteries are low or dead the shutter will not operate. Look here to
    see the shutter lock: http://www.canonfd.com/at1/page17.htm
    Try new batteries, even if you believe the old batteries to be good. The
    battery contacts might be dirty. Maybe the battery is in backwards. Look
    here to see battery replacement: http://www.canonfd.com/at1/page10.htm

    Normally when you open the camera after having rewinded an exposed roll the
    rewind button resets itself. Even it the rewind button is depressed you can
    still cock the shutter. The following usually applies to automatic cameras
    but there are some cameras that will not allow the shutter to fire when
    loading film after the camera is closed unless the lens cap is off. Try
    taking the lens cap off, set the shutter speed to B or a manual setting then
    press and release the shutter button If you still can't load the film
    because the shutter won't cock then the shutter is jammed and will need
    repair.
     
    me, Oct 15, 2004
    #11
  12. Bubba76

    Bubba76 Guest

    "Fred Anonymous" <> wrote in message news:<cks9av$ir7$1$>...
    > Bubba76 wrote in message
    > <>...
    > >Hi I'm a newbie of this group. I recently get this camera, but I
    > >couldn't be able to use it. I cannot load the film because the film
    > >advance lever didn't turn (it can move only about 30°). The battery is
    > >charged. I saw that the film rewind button is pressed, so i think it
    > >block my camera. i'm not able to release this button. anyone of you
    > >can help or advise me about this problem.
    > >
    > >thanx in advance

    >
    > Try jiggling the sprockets which advance the film. This may release the
    > rewind button.


    Thank you to everyone!!! I finally solve my problems. I change the
    battery. I never think about it because the internal checker said me
    it was fully charged, otherwise i tested it with a tester and the
    values was 5.15v (i thought it was ok). However thanks a lot again
     
    Bubba76, Oct 18, 2004
    #12
  13. Bubba76

    Bubba76 Guest

    "Fred Anonymous" <> wrote in message news:<cks9av$ir7$1$>...
    > Bubba76 wrote in message
    > <>...
    > >Hi I'm a newbie of this group. I recently get this camera, but I
    > >couldn't be able to use it. I cannot load the film because the film
    > >advance lever didn't turn (it can move only about 30°). The battery is
    > >charged. I saw that the film rewind button is pressed, so i think it
    > >block my camera. i'm not able to release this button. anyone of you
    > >can help or advise me about this problem.
    > >
    > >thanx in advance

    >
    > Try jiggling the sprockets which advance the film. This may release the
    > rewind button.


    Thank you to everyone!!! I finally solve my problems. I change the
    battery. I never think about it because the internal checker said me
    it was fully charged, otherwise i tested it with a tester and the
    values was 5.15v (i thought it was ok). However thanks a lot again
     
    Bubba76, Oct 18, 2004
    #13
  14. Bubba76

    me Guest

    "Bubba76" <> wrote in message
    news:...
    > "Fred Anonymous" <> wrote in message

    news:<cks9av$ir7$1$>...
    > > Bubba76 wrote in message
    > > <>...
    > > >Hi I'm a newbie of this group. I recently get this camera, but I
    > > >couldn't be able to use it. I cannot load the film because the film
    > > >advance lever didn't turn (it can move only about 30°). The battery is
    > > >charged. I saw that the film rewind button is pressed, so i think it
    > > >block my camera. i'm not able to release this button. anyone of you
    > > >can help or advise me about this problem.
    > > >
    > > >thanx in advance

    > >
    > > Try jiggling the sprockets which advance the film. This may release the
    > > rewind button.

    >
    > Thank you to everyone!!! I finally solve my problems. I change the
    > battery. I never think about it because the internal checker said me
    > it was fully charged, otherwise i tested it with a tester and the
    > values was 5.15v (i thought it was ok). However thanks a lot again


    You're welcome.
    me
     
    me, Oct 18, 2004
    #14
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. nk
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    264
    Todd H.
    Apr 16, 2005
  2. nik
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    258
    Paul Furman
    May 17, 2005
  3. Shem J.Bisluk
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    245
    David in Perth
    Oct 27, 2003
  4. Floppy Studios

    URGENT!!! HELP! HELP! I NEED HELP!

    Floppy Studios, Aug 13, 2003, in forum: Professional Video Production
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    251
    Craig Scheiner
    Aug 13, 2003
  5. The Martian
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    822
    ASAAR
    Jun 20, 2008
Loading...

Share This Page