Can Vegas Pro 12 be installed without uninstalling Vegas 10?

Discussion in 'Amateur Video Production' started by Brian, Dec 8, 2012.

  1. Brian

    Brian Guest

    I have not heard much about the new Vegas Pro 12 but I'm keen to try it out
    so I'm wondering if you need to uninstall an existing version of Vegas Pro
    first or does the existing Vegas Pro get replaced when Vegas Pro 12 is
    installed? I'm hoping that I can keep Vegas Pro 10 installed while I try
    out Vegas Pro 12. In the past two versions of Vegas Pro could be used but
    this might have changed.

    Has anyone installed Vegas Pro 12 and managed to use their older version of
    Vegas Pro (eg Vegas Pro 10) afterwards?
     
    Brian, Dec 8, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements


  2. Brian, I have Pro 10, 11 and 12 installed on my work machine and have
    not had any problems.
    I have read reports of other users with issues though so YMMV.

    Mike
     
    Emily Kujbida, Dec 8, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. As I understand it, (generally...;-) here's the scoop: if you
    have enough space on your program drive for multiple copies of
    Vegas, you can load and use them all - BUT, with any earlier
    project (".veg" file) that you open in a later version of Vegas
    than the one it was created in, if you save the project without
    renaming the .veg file first, that project file can then only
    be opened in that version of Vegas or a later one. You can get
    around this by changing the name of a project opened in a newer
    version of Vegas by renaming its file before saving it, which
    preserves the ability to open the earlier-named one again in
    the earlier version of Vegas. One method for keeping the
    projects straight (if you have, say, Pro 10, Pro 11, and Pro
    12 on your computer) is to rename the Pro 10 project file as
    Pro-10-"blah-blah" before opening it, and if it is opened in
    Pro 11, immediately do a "Save As" and change the name to
    Pro-11-"blah-blah" (or Pro-12-"blah-blah" if it is opened and
    saved in Pro 12). [Being early in the morning, and still nearly
    dark in a room with someone still sleeping, I hope I got the
    above at least fairly correct...;-]
    --DR
     
    David Ruether, Dec 8, 2012
    #3
  4. Brian

    Brian Guest

    Thanks David for the good advice.
    Have you tried out the latest version of Vegas Pro yet? I was hoping that
    people would report on this new version in this newsgroup.
     
    Brian, Dec 9, 2012
    #4
  5. I think we may be among the very few who still come to this
    NG anymore, sigh...! I still haven't opened my Pro 12 copy,
    and there has already been one update which I've downloaded
    and stored (build 394). Here is a good place for info on Vegas:
    www.sonycreativesoftware.com/forums/ShowTopics.asp?ForumID=4
    --DR
     
    David Ruether, Dec 9, 2012
    #5
  6. To add:
    I don't know is this is true, but I suspect that if you open
    more than one version of Vegas Pro at the same time and that
    you have assigned a major part of your system RAM to RAM-
    previewing in each (I do this to enable extended RAM previews
    while editing, assigning 10-12 gigs of my 16 gigs of RAM to
    that purpose), there ***MAY*** then exist a troublesome
    conflict. Dunno, though - never tried it...;-)
    --DR
     
    David Ruether, Dec 9, 2012
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.