Col settings & prefs revert themselves?

Discussion in 'Photoshop' started by franko, Jun 1, 2006.

  1. franko

    franko Guest

    why would the col prefs and preferences that have been set and used for
    months all of a sudden be gone and some 'default' ones be there & used
    instead ?
     
    franko, Jun 1, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. franko

    tacit Guest

    Because your preferences file has been damaged or corrupted, or you are
    logged in to Windows or Mac OS X with a different user, or for some
    reason you no longer have access to the directory where the preferences
    files are stored; or because you have hard disk corruption or hard disk
    directory damage; or because you or someone else has either accidentally
    changed the settings or instructed Photoshop to purge its preferences
    files.
     
    tacit, Jun 1, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. franko

    franko Guest



    could it happen as a result of defragmenting the hard drive (using xp built
    in defragger)
     
    franko, Jun 1, 2006
    #3
  4. franko

    tacit Guest

    Defragmenting a hard drive should not change any of the information on
    the drive; defragmenting, by itself, should have no effect on
    Photoshop's behavior.

    However, it's always a good idea to check a disk for damage before
    defragmenting it. If the disk has directory damage, defragmenting may
    result in loss of data.
     
    tacit, Jun 2, 2006
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.