Does PhotoShop have an 'extract' tool

Discussion in 'Photography Chat' started by johns, Feb 3, 2014.

  1. johns

    johns

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have many years of photos taken in the years of film (remember - film?). Anyway, I want to scan them to better share with my children. What I would like to do is to scan as many photos at a time as my flatbed scanner will hold.

    Then I would like to be able to 'extract' individual pics to a file of its own WITHOUT destroying the remaining photos on the original scan. As you know using the 'Crop' command destroys the remainder of the original scan.

    I am using Photoshop version 6 but will upgrade or purchase another application if necessary.

    Thanks in advance, JohnS
     
    johns, Feb 3, 2014
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. johns

    Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    What I do is: Crop, do a SAVE AS to another file name. Then I undo the crop, crop the next one, do another Save As, etc.
     
    Elf, Aug 21, 2014
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. johns

    spiritmotne

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    When youextractan object,Photoshoperases its background to transparency. Pixels on the edge ... ChooseFilter>Extract, and then specifytooloptions: ... Youdonotneedto highlight areas where the object touches the image boundaries.
     
    spiritmotne, Dec 29, 2014
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.