Does save workspace save prefs?

Discussion in 'Photoshop Tutorials' started by ronviers, Jan 31, 2007.

  1. ronviers

    ronviers Guest

    The last time I had to delete my prefs (or whatever it's called) I was
    using Illustrator but somehow it deleted my Photoshop prefes also -
    which screwed everything up. So I am wondering, if I save my
    workspace, then for whatever reason I have to delete my prefs again,
    if I then reload my workspace will my prefs be restored? I am
    concerned about things like where to use pixel units, where to use mm
    units, grid spacing and centers - that kind of thing. I would just try
    it but I am still recovering from last time.

    Thaks,
    Ron
     
    ronviers, Jan 31, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. ronviers

    KatWoman Guest

    I think no
    you would have to save a backup copy of the folder itself
    I don't see any way to do this from within the program..
     
    KatWoman, Jan 31, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. ronviers

    ronviers Guest


    Bummer.

    Thnsks for the reply
     
    ronviers, Jan 31, 2007
    #3
  4. ronviers

    edjh Guest

    No. But as KatWoman said, make a copy of the Prefs. When I have to reset
    prefs (rarely) I don't do it the "normal" way; I simply Copy/Paste the
    clean .psp file into the appropriate place in the Documents and Settings
    folder. That retains all my personal settings. The only thing it doesn't
    keep, unfortunately. is the current Recent Files list. Haven't yet
    figured a way to keep that.
     
    edjh, Jan 31, 2007
    #4
  5. ronviers

    ronviers Guest


    Ok, I did it.

    To save and restore your recent files list you can:

    Start
    Run
    Regedit
    Search for or browse to the following Key:
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Adobe\MediaBrowser\MRU\Photoshop\FileList
    Make 'Filelist' active
    Click on Export
    Then be sure to check the 'Selected branch' under the Export Range
    options
    Save this to your maintenance folder
    Then next time you have to restore prefs
    Right click and 'Merge'

    BTW, the Illustrator list is similarly located and saved.
    HTH,
    Ron
     
    ronviers, Feb 1, 2007
    #5
  6. ronviers

    ronviers Guest


    Obviously that is for the PC, if you use a Mac I cannot help. There
    was a time when I when I would have had some idea but that was way pre
    OS X and my Mac memories are fading fast.
    I have been looking at the work on your website - it is fantastic. You
    really are an amazing Illustrator/Artist. I wish I could buy some of
    your work - maybe someday.

    Take care,
    Ron
     
    ronviers, Feb 1, 2007
    #6
  7. ronviers

    edjh Guest

    Thank you very much, and thanks for the File List info.
     
    edjh, Feb 1, 2007
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.