Finally organising photos in Picassa

Discussion in 'UK Photography' started by john d hamilton, Sep 19, 2008.

  1. Novice has years of photos moved around and copied 'here and there', so now
    has lots of *duplicates* all over the place, including the external hard
    drive.

    In an attempt to organise them i downloaded Picassa and so can easily
    'delete' the duplicates, since they appear side by side.

    For some reason the folder icon with most of the photos in, that used to be
    in 'My Documents' has disappeared. Although a search shows the photos are
    still in 'My Documents'.

    What would be the best way to draw all the photos together and have them
    now in one place please ?
     
    john d hamilton, Sep 19, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. john d hamilton

    Rob Morley Guest

    ITYFI "Send to Folder"
     
    Rob Morley, Sep 19, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. john d hamilton

    Peter Guest


    The "send to" in Windows is not a move, it is a copy process.
    While I have not tried it on my Vista machine, you are right that it does
    require administrative rights. However, if that is your machine you should
    set yourself up as administrator. If that is a machine at your workplace
    your manager might not be thrilled with your use of a workplace machine for
    personal storage of photos. I have no intention for the above statement to
    start a discussion on proper use of workplace computers.
     
    Peter, Sep 19, 2008
    #3
  4. john d hamilton

    Morton Guest

    Hi,

    The beauty of Picasa is that it automatically copies any photos from
    your hard drive. If you at any point delete photos from Picasa, the
    originals will remain where they were on the hard drive. Similarly, if
    you edit a photo in Picasa, the original unedited version will remain on
    the hard drive. Being free doesn't hurt either.

    Morton
     
    Morton, Sep 23, 2008
    #4
  5. john d hamilton

    Pennywise Guest

    Your really on top of this computer security thing aren't you.
     
    Pennywise, Sep 23, 2008
    #5
  6. john d hamilton

    OG Guest

    Not necessarily so - if you copy the photo to your own *album*, you can
    delete it from the *album* without losing the original; if however, you
    delete the photo from the source folder in Picasa it *is* deleted from the
    HD and can only be retrieved via the recycle bin. Be warned.
    This is correct. Picasa backs up the original version of any image you edit
    to a hidden folder called 'Originals' within the source folder.
     
    OG, Sep 23, 2008
    #6
  7. john d hamilton

    OG Guest

    But deleting the edited version also deletes the backed up original. Again,
    be warned
     
    OG, Sep 23, 2008
    #7
  8. john d hamilton

    Morton Guest

    Thank you. If you ever had important images deleted accidentally by a
    malfunctioning device or program, then you would be too.

    Morton
     
    Morton, Sep 23, 2008
    #8
  9. john d hamilton

    Morton Guest

    I keep all my original unedited pictures in the folder "Pictures" on my
    hard drive, not resorting to Albums or other such moves. I therefore can
    be sure that a delete in Picasa2 retains the original in Pictures.
    (Vista Home Premium). In addition, I burn all my images to CD-Rs that
    are suppose to last 100 years; which I will not live long enough to
    prove.For important pictures in the field, I have a portable
    battery-operated CD-R burner for pictures that automatically burns
    images from the SD card to a blank CD-R.

    Regards,

    Morton
     
    Morton, Sep 23, 2008
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.