how to not append "copy" to default save filename?

Discussion in 'Photoshop Tutorials' started by peter, Dec 29, 2004.

  1. peter

    peter Guest

    Whenever I try to save a copy of a psd file as a jpg file, it always append
    the string " copy" to the file name. E.g. abc.psd would have a default save
    filename "abc copy.jpg"

    Is there a way to tell it not to append " copy"?

    Photoshop v6
     
    peter, Dec 29, 2004
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. This only happens when the original file contains things that are not
    supported in JPEG, such as layers. And no, it cannot be turned off (but
    doesn't happen if you flatten the file first). It's to warn you that you
    do indeed save a (flattened) copy, not a JPEG-version of the original.
     
    Johan W. Elzenga, Dec 29, 2004
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. peter

    Eric Gill Guest

    Use "Save for Web" is one way. I also like the interface, though it strips
    things like EXIF data from the file for maximum efficiency in file size.
     
    Eric Gill, Dec 29, 2004
    #3
  4. peter

    edjh Guest

    Flatten first.
     
    edjh, Dec 29, 2004
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.