Macro Lenses?

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment' started by meganwebb, Jan 27, 2010.

1. meganwebb

meganwebb

Hello,
    I currently have Canon Rebel XS and i am a amatuer photographer hoping to be a professional photographer i enjoy taking pictures and was looking into getting a macro or close up lens but i have no idea as to how to do this . for christmas i recieved close up filters and they are terrible . and i hate them .
    Thanks

meganwebb, Jan 27, 2010
    1. Advertisements

2. meganwebb

fishman10

I only have experience with the MP-E 65mm 2.8 lens. This lens is amazing but expensive and takes some "work" to get used to. The lens itself will run about 900 and then the flash that is pretty much required will run betwen 500 and 800 depending on which one you go with. You can go get a cheaper lens and be happy with the results but nothing else gets in close like the MP-E if you can afford it.

fishman10, Jan 12, 2011
    1. Advertisements

3. meganwebb

Alan J

Macro

I take it that you are not satisfied with your results due to distortion or shadows and you are wanting to get as close to perfection as possible. It is going to cost as you need to get extension tubes first off. These alter the lens magnification and they are not cheap. No doubt Canon do them, but if you live in UK, Jessops sell their own. Ebay is also worth a look. Even with extension tubes, depth of field is still shallow.