REPOST: what does "Auto Resolve" do in PS7 File Browser?

Discussion in 'Photoshop Tutorials' started by Walterius, Jan 5, 2006.

  1. Walterius

    Walterius Guest

    I've researched all my PS7 books (and of course the PS7 Help). None even
    mentions it. Nobody replied to my post last time. Does this mean "Auto
    Resolve" is a mystical secret, known only to Adobe developers?
     
    Walterius, Jan 5, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Walterius

    Bill Hilton Guest

    Walterius writes ...
    More likely it means most of us would choose "replace" or "cancel"
    instead of trusting "auto anything" so we don't know and don't care
    what "auto resolve" does :)
     
    Bill Hilton, Jan 5, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Walterius

    Bill Hilton Guest

    Walterius writes ...
    Out of curiosity I tried it in CS ... made a file named 'test.tif' and
    saved a copy in a 2nd directory then tried to copy again to the same
    directory from the File Browser and got the 'auto resolve' option ...
    choosing that option simply saved a copy of the file as 'test0000.tif'
    and saving again generated 'test0001.tif' ... so it just keeps on
    making copies (until 'test9999.tif' I guess ... wasn't motivated enough
    to see what happens after that) ... good way to do 'auto increment' of
    file names, better way to fill up your hard drive with extra copies you
    probably don't need ...

    Bill
     
    Bill Hilton, Jan 5, 2006
    #3
  4. Walterius

    Tony Cooper Guest

    You just don't have the right book. Mine says "Use the auto
    resolution dialog box to have Photoshop calculate the appropriate
    resolution for an image based on your chosen output parameters"

    There's a longer explanation for how to calculate the proper
    resolution manually.

    "Photoshop for Windows and Macintosh" Weinmann and Lourekas.
     
    Tony Cooper, Jan 5, 2006
    #4
  5. Walterius

    Bill Hilton Guest

    Tony Cooper writes ...
    something different, namely what "auto resolve" (not "auto resolution")
    means when you use File Browser to move a file into a directory which
    already has a file with that same name and you get "auto resolve" as
    one of the options (with 'cancel' and 'replace').
     
    Bill Hilton, Jan 6, 2006
    #5
  6. Walterius

    Walterius Guest

    Well, I appreciate the tries. But it's clear no one knows what it does.

    Thanks anyway.

    Walterius
    Old, and Auto-Confused.
     
    Walterius, Jan 7, 2006
    #6
  7. Walterius

    Brian Guest

    Well, from Bill's explanation it would seem clear. When you try to drag
    a file to a directory where another file of that name already exists,
    you get 3 options: CANCEL the transfer to that directory; REPLACE the
    existing file with the new file of the same name; RESOLVE the issue by
    allowing the transfer to that directory, but adding a digit(s) to the
    filename, as obviously, 2 files of the same name cannot exist in the
    same directory. Since PS is adding the digits to the name of the file
    for you, it is auto-resolving the problem for you.

    This explanation is purely based on Bill's findings.
     
    Brian, Jan 7, 2006
    #7
  8. Walterius

    Frank Guest

    Well read what Bill H wrote, that's your answer.

    Frank
     
    Frank, Jan 8, 2006
    #8
  9. Walterius

    Walterius Guest

    Gentlemen (and ladies, if any), I apologize. I was referring to PS7, not
    CS/CS2, so I tuned out to Bill H's reply. However, when I actually tried
    Auto Resolve, it saved FileA and FileB as FileA000 and FileB000.

    I had not looked in the folders previously to see what A-R actually did; I
    had assumed it simply overwrote FileA or left it alone.

    My error. Thanks to all.
     
    Walterius, Jan 8, 2006
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.