Upgrade from CS3 beta to CS3 final on windows?

Discussion in 'Photoshop Tutorials' started by just bob, Apr 30, 2007.

  1. just bob

    just bob Guest

    Should I uninstall the beta or install over it?
     
    just bob, Apr 30, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. just bob

    =\(8\) Guest

    Always, always, always uninstall a trial or beta program before installing
    the final or purchased copy. You will save yourself a ton of issues. If any
    thing can be used in the final or purchased version it is generally left
    behind. Like with Lightroom, the final shipping version could convert the
    beta database. At least most of the time. So yes, uninstall and even go in
    and delete the folder it was installed in to.

    =(8)
     
    =\(8\), Apr 30, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. To be really safe, use the Adobe uninstaller. If one didn't come with
    your beta, I believe there is one now available on the Adobe site.
     
    John McWilliams, Apr 30, 2007
    #3
  4. just bob

    Rob Guest

    This is on your CD Photoshop CS3 Read Me.


    Install your software

    IMPORTANT: If you have downloaded the public beta version of Photoshop
    CS3, please follow the uninstall instructions below before installing
    the release version of Photoshop CS3. If you encounter problems
    uninstalling the public beta or installing Photoshop CS3, go to
    http://www.adobe.com/support/ for information how to contact Technical
    Support.

    1. Before you install, close all applications currently running on
    your system—including other Adobe applications, Microsoft Office
    applications, and browser windows.
    2. Do one of the following:
    * Insert the CD or DVD in your drive, and follow the
    on-screen instructions. If the installer does not launch automatically,
    double-click Setup.exe (Windows) or Setup (Mac OS) in the Adobe
    Photoshop CS3 folder (at the second level on your disk) to start the
    installation process.
    * If you downloaded the software from the web, open the
    folder and double-click Setup.exe (Windows) or Setup (Mac OS), and then
    follow the on-screen instructions.
    3. If you have previously installed the public beta version of
    Photoshop CS3, we recommend that you delete your preferences by
    selecting ctrl+alt+shift (Windows) or cmd+alt+shift (Macintosh) while
    launching Photoshop after installing the full version. Click "Yes" in
    the dialog "Do you want to remove the Adobe Photoshop Settings file?"
     
    Rob, May 1, 2007
    #4
  5. just bob

    KatWoman Guest



    This is on your CD Photoshop CS3 Read Me.

    never ceases to amaze me
    that README's are not read
    but I meet a lot of comp users who do not know how to look at the directory
    of a CD unless it opens on auto play

    but even $50.00 programs can detect old installs that should be removed
    first
    Adobe should put it in the installer
    for this type of user
     
    KatWoman, May 2, 2007
    #5
  6. just bob

    =\(8\) Guest

    It is the same with license agreements. They should be on the box, not in
    the box in the setup program that by the time you get a chance to read it
    you realize that you already broke the seal on the CD sleeve and can't
    return it.

    =(8)
     
    =\(8\), May 3, 2007
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.